My reviews (205)

Deliciously dark soured cream chocolate cake

This chocolate cake oozes decadent, dark-chocolaty sweetness and depth. Soft dark brown sugar in both cake and icing gives it an unmistakeable 'wow' factor. They say that all of the fun happens after dark, and this cake is no exception!
Reviews (205)


18 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: cookiequeen
I've made quite a few chocolate cakes from scratch and this rates up there as one of the best(flourless chocolate cake is the best-I am a HUGE chocolate lover!) I took others advice and used more unsweetened chocolate-more like 6 ounces(I used Ghirardelli-spend a little extra on a better quality chocolate-it makes a difference) and I only used 2 cups brown sugar- and also I used 1/2 cup sourcream and a 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of one full cup of sourcream. I baked in two 9inch pans for 43 minutes. I used buttercream fudge frosting from this site and it was soo yummy. Always make chocolate cake a day or two in advance because chocolate cake taste better with age-the great chocolate flavors come out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Emily
I own my own bakery and I am always looking for a great chocolate cake recipe. I made this cake just to try it out to see if it was something that I would use for my customers in the bakery. The cake was too bitter, too dense and I found that it didn't have a good taste. The taste testers (my employees) have tasted good and bad cake and we were all in agreement that while it wasn't the worst cake, it wasn't good either. Sorry...I will try again, but I am not holding out hope.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: danielle
This cake was excellent. I used triple the amount of chocolate, as recommended. I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, so I reduced the amount of sugar. I also used coffee instead of the boiling water which added a nice taste. I split the recipe in half and made one 9" cake and had enough batter left over to make 6 cupcakes. The cake was very fudgey and yet was not too heavy. It was also very moist. I served it with white chocolate mousse and strawberries and everyone loved it. I would definetly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 May 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
This is a good, dependable chocolate cake that doesn't require a lot of monkeying around with to make it so. I did use 4 ounces of chocolate rather than 3, but only because I used a Ghirardelli 4 ounce bar - since it was unsweetened, I couldn't exactly eat the remaining ounce! It's kind of middle of the road in color; not too milk chocolatey light, but neither is it deep, dark blackish brown - it's just a nice chocolate brown with plenty of good, chocolate taste, perhaps in part because I used hot coffee rather than the boiling water which makes the chocolate bloom. It's very moist, with a more sturdy, compact crumb - in other words, it's a little heavier than what you might contrast with that of a boxed cake mix. I was quite happy it. I baked it in two 9" layers, filled it with chocolate ganache and frosted it with a marshmallow buttercream. Dare I say, it almost tasted like a Hostess Cupcake? (Four stars rather than five, only because there are a couple of other chocolate cake recipes on this site that would trump ANY other chocolate cake recipe)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: RALWATTAR
Okay, I think I've finally found the BEST chocolate cake recipe EVERRRR!! I increased the chocolate to 10 oz and reduced the sugar to 2 cups. This cake came out soooo thick and moist and fluffy. Don't be afraid of the caramel frosting--I was hesitant about it at first but I'm glad I made it because it tastes so so good (I did decrease the powdered sugar to 1 cup because we don't like overly sweet things). Try this cake!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2006
AWESOME sums it up! It is a heavier textured cake, with the best flavor! I am not normally a chocolate cake lover, I made it for my husband. I can't leave it alone! I took the advice of putting in five squares of chocolate, I wouldn't go any less. I didn't have all unsweetened chocolate so I used three semi-sweet and two unsweetened, which worked perfect. I also used the Buttercream frosting found here instead of the Caramel Icing. I wouldn't change anything else! SPECTACULAR!!! Looks like no more cake mixes for me, this is WELL worth the little bit of effort it took to make. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LULUBELLE1
A)Instead of 3 eggs, I used just 1 (it made the cake denser, less cake-like and more brownie-like). B)I replaced 1 cup of the white flour with whole wheat pastry flour. C)I used fat free sour cream. D)I increased the chocolate to 5 squares. E)I used a bundt pan Also, instead of the caramel frosting, I made a cream cheese frosting. The cake is outstanding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2005
Reviewed by: ELANTHIA
Absolutely FABULOUS chocolate cake recipe. I had been using the Hershey's chocolate cake recipe for a couple of years now but this one beat it out hands down. From now on this is the only chocolate cake recipe I'll use. I had 6 different people taste it and they were all amazed at how rich, moist, and delicious it was. It is also to be noted that I made this cake without eggs and it was STILL great. I replace the eggs with Ener-G Egg Replacer and it worked out perfect. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: KDEMBERSON
I used this cake recipe for a large Groom's cake -it was completely gone, while 1/3 of the white wedding cake remained. 100 taste testers can't be wrong!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: ELIZABETHBH
I doubled the amount of chocolate, frosted it with a rich chocolate buttercream and filled it with ganache!! Wow, it was AMAZING!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches