My reviews (21)

Italian sausage fettuccine carbonara

Browned Italian sausage meat tops a rich sauce of whipping cream simmered with butter, Pecorino Romano cheese and parsley poured over fettuccine pasta. This meaty, spicy twist on a classic pasta cream sauce is a filling and flavourful alternative to 'same old pasta' night!
Reviews (21)


07 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CCHADD
This is excellent, but very rich. I use double the pasta for the same amount of sauce, and usually use thin spaghetti instead of fettuccine. The cheese is Locatelli (not Locatella), which is Pecorino Romano. I have also made it using regular sausage rather than Italian sausage. I should also add that I now make the sauce in the microwave, just keeping an eye on it until it starts to boil. Comes out fine and saves a lot of time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
I only gave this recipe 4 stars after reading the reviews and realizing how rich the sauce would be. After making a few changes, it now rates *5* (according to the family). Instead of 1 cup heavy cream, I used 1/2 cup of 2% milk and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. I also used only 1/4 cup of butter. (I made these changes for 2 reasons, one to reduce calories and the other to lighten the richness of the sauce). This turned out very creamy and light, but not heavy and rich!! No leftovers at my house. Will definately make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: POPDEM
great stuff... I couldn't find that particular cheese so I used a mix of romano, parmesan, and asiago cheeses... the cheese didn't really melt into the sauce but it still worked great for me... wonderful taste... i used cheese tortilini... everyone enjoyed it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Kim
Made sauce with Heavy cream substitute taken from frugal living and it was fantastic....Will definitely use this again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: GREENGARG
100% yummm
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: What'sforDinner
Once I read that Locatella (Locatelli) is really Pecorino Romano, this was a snap, and unbelievably delicious. I used light cream instead of heavy whipping cream, and mixed in a bit of Parmesan with the Pecorino Romano. I also cooked some red pepper in with the sausage, and added some chopped asparagus to the pasta while it was cooking. Oh, and then I added some scallions in with the parsley, so I changed it up a bit but made it a bit healthier with the veggies. It was SOOOOO... absolutely delicious it's getting added to my "guest dinners" list!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Kristiaz21
Delcious. Used romano cheese with a dash of parmesan and penne pasta (what I had on hand). Also I used spicy italian sausage - it was great, will always make this way. Took me about 20 minutes from start to finish and tasted great. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Neil
I tried this recipe with the addition of shrimp and scallops...it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Gabby Cantero
Fantastic taste, it was the hit at my sister's surprise birthday party. No lefovers. I did add cornstarch to the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Army_wife_07
Um. I don't know about this. It was ok I guess, I sauteed some garlic with the sausage and then after tasting it I wound up adding parm and romano cheese. That was just personal prefrence, I like really bold flavors. I think it was the sausage that I wasn't fond of, strange texture maybe? I guess I am sticking with my normal recipe and using grilled chicken though. Thank you for the recipe anyway, it worked when I had completely forgotten to marinate chicken lol =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches