My reviews (19)

Oat and Flaxseed Bread

A tasty bread machine bread enriched by the fibre and nutrition of Ready brek oat cereal and flaxseed meal.
Reviews (19)


Comment:
15 Sep 2008
Chanicky said:
Something else. excellent! I used the bread machine for the dough cycle and made rolls from the dough (let rise 45 minutes), absolutely amazing served with Honey! thank you so much for this recipe!
 
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
WMAQ said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This bread is really good. I like the high fibre content. I used more wholemeal than plain flour, and it was still great. The bread not only tastes great, it looks great, too! Thanks for a great, high fibre recipe!
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Sue
Great taste! My bread machine doesn't work well, so I mixed the dough in my kitchen-aid mixer instead. It is very hearty and dense...and I may try to add a bit more sugar, and some gluten next time so it will rise a little higher...to use for sandwiches. This would also be terrific as mini-loaves baked free form. Tasted great toasted with honey, too. Thanks for sharing a really good and healthy bread recipe!
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NYPD K9 COP
Way too dry as is. Needed more gluten and about 175ml more water.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DRAGYNWING
This was very good. I followed the ingredients exactly and it came out very good-very soft in the inside. The outside is a little "hard" but not too bad. This bread tasted great with honey alone or with a chicken sandwich. Thanks!
 
28 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: TLAAD
This bread is really good. I like the high fiber content. My only changes were: reduced white bread flour to 1 cup and added an extra 1/3 cup wheat flour. I also added about 1 1/2 tsp of vital gluten. The bread not only tastes great, it looks great, too! Thanks for a great, high fiber recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: peep
excellent! I added 2 tsps vital wheat gluten, and used the bread machine for the dough cycle and made rolls from the dough (let rise 45 minutes), absolutely amazing served with Honey! thank you so much for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: BIZZYSMOM
Great taste! My bread machine doesn't work well, so I mixed the dough in my kitchen-aid mixer instead. It is very hearty and dense...and I may try to add a bit more sugar, and some gluten next time so it will rise a little higher...to use for sandwiches. This would also be terrific as mini-loaves baked free form (similar to what some of the steakhouse's serve). Tasted great toasted with honey, too. Thanks for sharing a really good and healthy bread recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: 400luv
Very yummy! I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and it came out great. Also used all whole wheat pastry flour instead of whole wheat and all-purpose and ground flaxseed (not sure if that is any different from flax seed meal). It is a somewhat dense bread, but it melts in your mouth; it's not dry at all. I had it with soup the night I made it, and then the next morning I had it again as toast. Delicious! I will be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Dannon
This was very good. I followed the ingredients exactly and it came out very good-very soft in the inside. The outside is alittle "hard" but not too bad. This bread tasted great with honey alone or with a chicken sandwich. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches