My reviews (19)

German Chocolate Cake

A delicious chocolate cake that originates from America. This moist chocolate cake is topped with a caramel flavoured, walnut and pecan icing.
Reviews (19)


05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: littleflowerana
Great recipe! Not dry at all. If you are using all purpose flour instead of cake flour, be sure to subtract 3 tablespoons from the 1 1/2 cups, or else you could end up with a dry cake. Also, I only baked it for 30 minutes instead of 40, my oven tends to bake fast, so I just kept an eye on it and as soon as a knife came out clean, I took it out (dry cake can also be a result of over baking) . This is a much easier, cheaper and more convenient recipe than others I found, which appeals to me as a busy mom. I loved it, my husband loved it, and we will be using it again in the future!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: B. Scott Andrews
This recipe is pretty good, but not as good as German Chocolate Cake III, however, it is much quicker and easier to make. I doubled the recipe using the "change servings" function. After carefully checking all the measurements, I found discrepancies with the printed instructions, which were not updated with the ingredient list. Be careful to review the recipe when doubling and it will turn out fine. I also substituted pecans for walnuts for a more traditional frosting. Normally I would give this recipe 4 or 5 stars, but the German Chocolate Cake III is that much better if you have the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: jh
I am not a baker of cakes, but for my husbands birthday he asked for a German chocolate cake (his favorite) so I thought I would try it... This recipe was the easiest one so I tried it and it turned out great. Very moist, not too sweet and everyone loved it, I do not love coconut so I can only say from my point of view the cake was extra yummy! Will definitely try again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Marian Paroo
Fantastic!!!! We don't have German's baking chocolate here, so I took a tip from a substitutions site and added 1/2 Tablespoon sugar to each ounce of the semi-sweet chocolate that I used. I also needed a little more cream to make the topping spreadable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2002
Reviewed by: MISSEMMA
This was hands down the worst cake recipe I have ever tried. It was not chocolatey, very dry, the frosting was gritty and awful. Terrible!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: BEARFISH18
This is an extremely tasty option for good old fashioned German Chocolate Cake. The cake was fluffy and topping a great, not overly sweet, addition to it. Everyone who tried it raved! Deffinately a future use in my repertoire!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 May 2011
Reviewed by: elmomoh4
The five stars is for the cake, however, the icing recipe is not complete. Please post recipes targeting a 7 year old reading level. Make it clear as to what you should do, step by step.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: texacaliutahgirl
I used agave instead of sugar, a goose egg instead of two chicken eggs, and ghirardelli unsweetened baking squares instead of German chocolate. The cake itself turned out to be a fabulous chocolate cake! Very moist and delicious. As for the frosting, well, it's not true German chocolate cake frosting. This is a great recipe for a good chocolate cake. I'll just try a different frosting recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Amanda
Delicious! I served this as dessert when my in-laws came over for dinner. Everyone loved it! I made it with Splenda and I served it with no-sugar added vanilla ice-cream. The frosting is especially tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Cristinka
We chose this recipe for our Pastries class for our final project.It turned out great! it is the most delicious cake I have ever eaten! I think I am gonna make today one for my family! I would rate it even more then 5 stars.(We actually changed it a little bit.After we made the dough we cut it in two equal parts and made the cake from two layers. And we added some frosting on top and between layers. )
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches