My reviews (15)

German chocolate cake with a secret

Don't be alarmed when I reveal the secret... it's sauerkraut. You won't be able to taste it in this wonderful chocolate cake, but it does add a great texture.
Reviews (15)


13 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Mary M.
I substituted 6 T. flaxseed meal for about a third of the butter. I also added between 1/2 and 3/4 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips along with the sauerkraut. I baked this in a Bundt pan for 45 minutes. It was very nice, but next time I will increase the cocoa a bit and be sure I add the chocolate chips again. This recipe is a real keeper. Even the pickiest eaters in my house had no idea at all that there was sauerkraut in it; they loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: EROCK101
This was really good, I was very pleased. I chopped the sauerkraut super fine, so there were only a few incidents with stringy pieces. I frosted this cake with the Chocolate Frosting I recipe and took a few pieces down to the boys at the neighborhood bar and they enjoyed it. UPDATE: Still delicious, made it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: pooz
It was pretty good, the saurkraut needs 2 either be chopped really super fin eor food processed. My brother really didn't enjoy the stringy pieces of pickeled cabbage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2008
Reviewed by: CassiaFlower
Love this cake! If you think the sauerkraut taste is a little strong, just rinse it off before chopping it. It adds a nice texture to this cake. The only change I made was substituting applesauce for the butter, which turned out great. This is a very moist cake recipe. I frosted it with the Chocolate Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting on this site - a big hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: ALICELUCILLE
I have made this cake for yrs, no one will believe that it is made with sauerkraut, so gooooood
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Dolan
I loved this cake! It was moist and yummy. I substituted the water for coffee to bring out the chocolate. I also washed, drained and cut the sauerkraut very small. Would definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: EntertainingHen
I found this recipe delicious! My husband Al had requested a German Chocolate cake recipe for his birthday. I made the cake plus another batch of muffins. The only change I would make at this time is to cut down the sugar slightly. I cut down the baking time by about 5-10 minutes because I was using the convection feature on my oven. Also used silicone pans. No problems there. Made a filling with whipping cream, pudding and nuts for the cake and used a chocolate frosting from another recipe. Comments when I passed out the muffins were: delicious! Rate 4.5
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Sasa
This cake just sounded too weird. So I couldn't help but try it. It was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and made a Swiss Merengue Buttercream Chocolate Frosting and covered the lot with rolled out Marzipan (I made it for my son's first birthday). Yummy. I pulsed the Sauerkraut in my food processor to make sure it's finely chopped as I had read the reviews about it being a little stringy for some. I then squeezed out any excess brine. Next time i might use a touch more Sauerkraut. And there will definitely be a next time. It is not THE BEST chocolate cake recipe I have ever had, but it is very good and I just love the gimmick of having Sauerkraut in a cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 May 2010
WOW, this really does taste like German Chocolate Cake!! Deffinatly must puree the sauerkraut, but its amazing how it adds to the flavor of the cake but not in a saurekraut way! Will be keeping this one around the house all the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: haya
nice
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches