My reviews (19)

Prune and Apricot Hamantaschen

A traditional Jewish biscuit made by encasing a fruit filling with a citrus-infused pastry. This recipe includes how to make the fruit filling, but if you're short of time, susbtitute in jam.
Reviews (19)


09 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: GREENAPRIL
These cookies turned out great!!! What is even better is that they were successfully made gluten free-not easy with most treats. I added one egg, decreased the flour by 2/3 to 3/4 cup (depending) and added 1 tsp. of xanthum gum to the dough. I kneaded thoroughly and chilled the dough overnight. Rolled the circles between two sheet or wax paper and used GF preserves as the filling. SO YUMMY!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: the zahlers
reduce the amount of filling by one cup, we had lots left over. a great cookie. roll out dough to be 1/8 inch rather than 1/4 inch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: TFRach
Really good recipe. I used canola oil and white whole wheat flour--the dough was great. For the filling I made separate batches of apricot and prune, then put them in the blender with lemon juice and sugar, (no walnuts) so I had 2 different fillings, both good. I ended up with more than twice as much filling as I needed, so I guess I'll have to make more dough and eat more hamantaschen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: bird
SO good! For some reason, the dough was too soft to roll out right after mixing it all together, so I refrigerated it for a couple of hours. I had no problem at all rolling them out after that. The cookies are so delicious! They are so much more flavorful than other recipes that I've tried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Aliza Finley
I'd like to add: We make extra filling and eat it on yogurt or cereal or plain. Besides being tasty, it really helps... hem... move things along
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: imetmadonna
This is a REALLY great recipe! The only thing I had a problem with is that my first round overflowed. The fix: only fill with ONE TEASPOON for a 2-3 inch round dough. Then, using a bowl of water, dip your finger in water, and moisten the boarder of the disc before forming the triangle. It helps the ends stick better. I also used store-bought jam, with no other issues. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Alissa Frederick
fabulous recipe! I didn't have any lemons, so I just doubled the orange zest and it was perfect. Also, I used the bread hook on my Kitchenaid to mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: Mindi Barth Maline
Amazing recipe. Dough stays cookie-crispy after baking and storing in cookie jar. I added vanilla and a little orange juice to the dough. I also put mine in the fridge before rolling out. I used chocolate chips, Nutella and a concoction of raisins, dried cranberries and dried apricots simmered in orange juice with cinnamon and sugar and then mashed with my immersion blender for the filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: jillmichelle
Fantastic, tasty dough! I mixed it w the dough hook attachment in my KitchenAid mixer. So easy! Scraped it from bowl onto Roul Pat mat & needed to sprinkle w some flour (used Organic pastry flour & raw sugar). I also added a drop of Young Living 'Citrus Fresh' essential oil to the egg mixture. Amazing flavor & I love cooking w my oils (I sell them as well). The dough rolled out so nicely. Didn't have time to make the filling so I used a combo of cherry & apricot Bon Maman preserves. I made the cookies thin so I baked them only 14-16 min per batch. Crunchy edges & soft inside. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Rob
These were great. But for my neighbor down the hall, I'd be interested to know if commenter GreenApril meant gluten-free flour in her gluten-free version. Otherwise that recipe is -- obviously -- not gluten-free. Hope she sees this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches