My reviews (244)

Fiery three meat chilli

Be warned, this chilli is not for the faint-hearted. It's made with bacon, beef, pork, kidney beans and no less than twenty chillies. Enjoy with rice, corn bread or over jacket potatoes.
Reviews (244)


28 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Mike
First of all, 'OMG AWESOME' Recipe! I followed all of the ingredients exactly, but added a tbsp of garlic salt near the end, as my tastebuds like salt! I will be making this recipe from now on whenever I make chili.... 10 stars! On a side note, I noticed alot of people made their own recipes from this and added reviews about their chili on this recipe... People, you have your OWN recipe! Don't add your review here if its completely different from the original! Type up your OWN recipe on allrecipes.com instead of putting a review on something totally different.... It's like making a review about a BMW, when you drive a Mercedes.... it doesn't make sense!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: PHONETEK
It's been awhile since I have made this. This is quite hot using habanero's but if your even attempting this recipe hot is obviously what your looking for. The flavor is excellent just the way it is. Perfect! There is no such thing as too many peppers as the previous reviews stated. Good chili if spilled on the table should leave a burn mark in the wood. If for some reason you feel this is too hot you can always add a bit of sugar, this will eliminate some of the acidity hence taking a bit of heat from the chili. I don't recommend adding gobs of sugar or it will be too sweet. A bit of sweet ketchup or some baking soda will help too. This is our new family recipe from now on for chili. Thanks for posting it Edd! FYI, If you forget or do not wear gloves cutting the peppers your hands will burn, baking soda will help with this too. Take some hand soap and 3-4 tablespoons of baking soda and rub it in really good, let it sit on your hands a few minutes and rinse. Good as new!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: JDAY001
Thanks for this recipe. I just won 1st place in a chili cook-off out of 14 contestants! I used the exact recipe, just added a tbsp of salt. For those who have never heard of chili paste, I found it in the Asian section of the grocery store.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: DaCuda
Very very good! It is hot of course but the taste is fantastic and yes, its easy to make. It is MUCH better after sitting in the fridge a day or two! After sitting it also does not seem as hot so next time we plan to add a bit more bacon, another habanero and two more cans of beans. But the first time we followed the recipe exact and it turned out fantastic. If you did not think much of it after making it please try throwing it in the fridge and reheat it well the next day, its a whole new chili after that! I did cook longer as well, forgot to mention that. I cooked it for about 90 minutes then added bacon and beans. I had to run so I left it on low for about 3 hours after that. Also, for gloves I had a box of surgical gloves and that works GREAT. They fit so well to your hands they do not get in the way and after chopping the peppers can just be thrown out. A whole box is only a couple bucks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ladybeccsalot
i'm a vegetarian, so i had to change some of this up, obviously. to any vegetarians browsing chili recipies, i say try this out. what i did was instead of ground beef and pork, i simply used 2 and 2/3rds bags of morning star tofu crumbles. for the bacon, i used morningstar bacon. everything else i followed to a tee, except the chili beans. all i could find were kidney beans, so i used those. i also couldn't find habaneros at the store, so i used scotch bonnet peppers. the result was absolutely delicious (and mmm! spicy!) and i gave some to some of my carnivorous friends who slopped it up. a friend looked up and said "wait -- who did you make this for? it must be awful making chili when you can't eat it." i replied "i sure can!" and scooped some up with a chip. they all stayed staring at me and i parried, "it's vegetarian!" i got a unanimous "NO WAAAYYY!" hahahaha! so i say give this a shot, and drop me a message with your results!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Carrie Magill
I was short by half the Anaheim peppers called for, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I pureed the tomatoes and peppers for a smooth chili, and the texture turned out just perfect. I like very hot food, but this was a little too hot for even me! Husband loved it as is, but he's obviously insane. The proportions and flavor are perfect as-is, my only change will be to lose about half the peppers and see if I can eat more than a few bites next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: kvd98
Turned out really good. Obviously "hot" is relative since some people like really spicy foods and others don't. If you don't like spicy food, obviously find a different recipe. If you do, it's fantastic. Great flavor from this chili, not just all burn and no taste. Two things: may not want to use 2 cups of water. It was a little too soupy for my tastes, I like my chili thick. I'd cut it to 1 cup. Also, make it ahead of time. I made it on Saturday and stuck it in the fridge until Monday. Flavors blend together quite nicely as it ages. It tasted much better Monday than it did Saturday.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Undomesticated Goddess
Yum-O! I made this last night and can't wait to have some more today. The only adjustments I made were adding half a bag of roasted corn from Trader Joe's & more garlic. Used the roasted tomatoes from TJs as well the whole plum tomatoes. Then topped each bowl with marbled cheddar cheese and sour cream. Hot & Spicy but still flavorful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Darcy
This was the best chili I have ever made. If you don't like VERY spicy foods, just reduce the ammount of peppers involved in the original recipe. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: hippiechick
hellfire is right! die-hard chili eaters only! this one packs a punch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches