My reviews (30)

Clam dip in a bread bowl

This is a great appetiser to serve for any type of dinner party. A bread bowl is filled with a clam and cream cheese filling, before being baked.
Reviews (30)


14 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: VegOut
This recipe was fantastic... only changes I made included 1. using 8oz of sour cream instead of one of the cream cheese packages, since I didn't have enough cream cheese, 2. throwing a few shakes of cayenne pepper in instead of the hot sauce and 3. baking it in a casserole dish covered with foil at 300 degrees for 1.5 hours (last 10 minutes uncovered) since I didn't have a bread bowl.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: lons65
Took this to a football party and kept it warm in a new serving dish that had a tea candle underneath. Worked really well. Dip got rave reviews from the crowd. I did add a clove or two of garlic and some dried parsley. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: BF
I doubled the recipe and baked it for the recommended time in a casserole dish. It was really good and a big hit at my party. I served it in a warming dish with french bread slices that I broiled in the oven to toast. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: J Lynn
I tried this recipe but found it to be bitter. Beer, grated Onion hot pepper sauce and Worcestershire sauce are all bitter ingredients. I would suggest less grated onion or use sweet onion (vadalia) I think with the sweet onion the recipe would be less bitter. I would try this recipe again with some adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: LAWSY1
Very good, even with modifications. I had no cream cheese or onion; used sour cream instead and some onion soup mix along with everything else in this recipe. I didn't think it was good at first, but after the flavors blended in a couple of hours- it was great -it was finished off quickly at the party...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Oliver'nme
Excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: srrh
This was quite good. Next time I'll try it with jalapenos for sure! My only problem is that there wasn't enough bread for the dip, so we were burning our fingers tearing the bread bowl apart near the end, haha.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Lucky Noodles
Wonderful recipe! I'll be serving this again and again! Thanks Lara and your mom too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: girliemom22
I make this all the time for family gatherings. We are not hotsauce fans, so I don't add that and it comes out just fine. I use a sourdough round. When I transport it to parties, I leave it in the foil and wrap it in a towel to keep it warm. I have extra crackers on hand because the bread goes pretty fast! Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah
I was not impressed by this recipe. I was looking for a very clammy taste, and I halved the recipe and still used two cans of clams. The onion didn't seem to add a good taste to the dip. Worcestershire and lemon juice are right on, along with a dash or two of the clam juice. I love clam dip, but I'll definitely modify this recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches