My reviews (11)

Hungarian Walnut Pastries

These biscuits are also known as kifli. A buttery biscuit dough is enriched with egg yolks and cream cheese, filled with sweetened walnuts and baked.
Reviews (11)


07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Becky
These are the cookies that my mom's Yugoslavian neighbor taught us how to make when we were kids. I can't believe that I found the receipe and as soon as I took my first bite, I knew it was them. They are great and well worth the effort. I nice, light cookie that has a touch of sweetness. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Julie Galatocky
I see some differences between my mom's recipe...she uses sour cream instead of cream cheese and instead of rolling out the dough onto a floured surface she rolls it onto a powdered sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Lady Jane
I learned how to make these Kiflis when I was in high school and made them almost every Christmas. I lost the recipe when I move this summer and am thrilled to find it on this site!Everyone loves these and asks for them during the holiday season. This is the original recipe. They are worth the work!! Try them you will love them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Geets
Great recipe. Reminds me of childhood at Grandma's house. Ally M. Who cares about your review? It has NOTHING to do with the Kifli. Stick to the topic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: DEBBY311
tasted great and got lots of compliments!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: B
I have been making Kifli's for years...it just wouldn't be Christmas without them! My family loves them filled with Apricot Preserves or Prune Lekvar. I will try this version next Christmas to see how it compares to my Grandmothers old recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Ally M.
This sounds more like Hammentaschen which is a Jewish pastry for the holidays. The little square is supposed to replicate a holy man's hat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: junev
does this recipe freeze well?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: ferenc
well, this is a dessert, not the plain kifli. these kind of sweet kiflis are simply called like that but have other than Hungarian origins and I am looking for the plain kifli to explain my wife. I am Hungarian and she'd like to make some
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: STOLISPRIT
Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches