My reviews (68)

Simple sausage and cheese pasta bake

A simple Italian sausage and penne pasta bake, perfect for an evening when you don't have the time or energy to make lasagne - you can still enjoy this meat, cheese and pasta bake made easy and tasty.
Reviews (68)


18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: KathyB
I made this and it was really good. I ended up adding an 8 oz can of tomato sauce as it really didn't coat the penne pasta enuf... I also, made it in a 9x13 dish and it was all the way to the top before I added the cheese...I let it bake, then added the cheese to melt...I used more than an 8 oz package...I made this and shared with our neighbor whose birthday was yesterday...She is a real picky eater and she liked it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Ron
Very simple to assemble - got positive comments from the crew. Only change was to go 1/2 Italian sausage meat, 1/2 ground beef.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Lisa Chase Simon
Very good. This made a ton. I used broken lasagna noodles instead of penne and a bit more sauce, but I was using a full pound of noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I've been making something like this for a long time, only we called it Jill's Mom's Lasagna and used broken lasagna noodles. This took me fifteen minutes to throw together, from start to finish. I did make one change and use my own homemade spaghetti sauce, which had both sausage and ground beef in it. I made no other changes. This worked out great for me because it used up half a batch of spaghetti sauce and penne pasta that I had sitting around.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Melissa89n
Very good! I had a craving for lasagna but wanted something quicker. This fit the bill. Kids loved it. I used one box of penne pasta and a jar and a half of pasta sauce. Made great leftovers and it was very easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: ROSIESTOES
I gave this five stars for it being easy to prepare on a busy night, nice flavor and everyone in the family liking it. Thanks for the quick and yummy weeknight meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: rainbowcreek
This is a great weeknight recipe and we usually have leftovers for another meal or lunches. I use riccota cheese and mix in some parmesan and 1 egg for the cheese filling. It doesn't take much more time to mix that up and it gives it a more authentic lasagna flavor. Sometimes I use sliced cooked sweet Italian sausage and layer it in rather than cooking the sausage in the sauce. I actually prefer this to real lasagna, just as good for half the work!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: PULLEYHEATHER
I'm rating this based on my husband's opinion...I would have given it a 3 but I think it's because I don't like Italian sausage that much! So, he said it was great with the sausage. I'd make it with hamburger for myself. Simple and fast, so points for that!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: crosstitchcarrie
This was very good, and easy. Husband and 3 children loved it! No leftovers by bedtime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: LADDIE18
This was very easy to make and very tasty! I will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches