My reviews (772)

Penne with spinach, tomatoes and bacon

This is a quick light meal. Wilted spinach, bacon (or pancetta) and tomatoes are tossed with penne pasta.
Reviews (772)


09 May 2013
Reviewed by: bicko
really enjoyed the sauce that my partner and I ate the whole lot yum yum !! garlic bread to clear the bowl !!!
 
Comment:
28 Jan 2013
angeljin said:
and broccolli by Kristab.
 
28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: angeljin
Thankyou Jean for this recipe, its great. I must admit i changed it a little as I had chicken that needed to be cooked so i added all purpose seasoning to the cubed chicken and browned it in coconoil first and instead of pancetta used bacon. It was very tasty. Love the draining the pasta into a colander with spinach into it to wilt it. Genius! I cooked a side dish with it and it was delicious - Stir-fried Seasame green pepper
 
30 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: mama2006
I always follow the recipe EXACTLY the first time I make it if I am planning on doing a "review." Otherwise, how can you trust the "stars" if everyone is rating it based on changing the recipe? This was extremely yummy. Very flavorful. Easy to make. DELICIOUS! I found none of the problems that other reviewers did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: COURTNEYGRIFF
Ok-I change some of the recipes I use from this site-I usually hate it when people do it, but I can't help myself! I used a whole pound of bacon-sauteed that until crispy- drained off most of the grease (left about 2Tbsp.) sauteed a small onion with the garilc- added some dried basil and cayenne pepper- and added the tomatoes (I used tomatoes with green chiles) while I cooked the pasta. Once the pasta was almost done, I added the spinach to the tomato mixture and then drained the pasta and added it to the tomatoes. Once I brought it to the table, I served it with parmesan cheese. YUM-O!! My husband said 4. I said 5 because I think it's great. This would be good at room temp as a buffet dish, I think it'll be great as leftovers and would be awesome with some grilled chicken and mushrooms. Great recipe with lots of room to personalize! Thanks for an awesome start to a great meal! Served with garlic bread and a green salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Server33
VERY GOOD! Just a couple upgrades...I used a pound of bacon and almost 2 pounds of pasta. I put some spinach in the skillet and some in the pasta drainer to test both ways. It's good both ways. The strainer/colander spinach was just bland and wilted. The skillet spinach absorbed bacon flavor, so I recommend the skillet spinach version. (Already putting in a pound of bacon, we're not exactly watching our figure here.) I added onions and garlic to the cooked/drained bacon. And at the end I added some cream to the skillet before dumping it over the pasta. This was really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Sandra C
I made this a second time and made some changes to make it taste better. I removed my bacon and added fresh tomatoes to the 1 tbsp garlic. I boiled that down and then added a box of spinach. 2 minutes later I added the bacon back in. I turned off the heat and added 1 cup of parmesan cheese. Everyone ate it this time. This was my first review. "Tasted better the second day. Added parmesan to flavor it up."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: KATERINAJB
This recipe turned out great, with one fairly major change on my part. Mine is not a tomato-friendly household (neither of us can stand the things!) so I used a small jar of sliced roasted red peppers (drained) in place of the tomatoes. I sprinkled some crumbled Feta cheese over the top just before serving and it was a great, light meal. I also used this basic idea for a pasta side dish, except I used orzo in place of penne and I sliced the spinach chiffonnade-style to make the leaf size more suited to the pasta. Great, versatile recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: treycamey
I knew this recipe was a winner when my husband exclaimed, "Wow! This tastes like restaurant food!" It tastes very good the next day, stays moist and reheats well. Thanks for such a delicious and easy recipe that I'll be making over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: beverly
Very good as is, however, in order to make it a less fattening, replace chicken broth for olive oil and bacon drippings and substitute bottled real bacon peices (not imitation) for fried bacon. Must splurge and top with parmesean cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches