My reviews (34)

Sabzi polo (Persian herbed rice with broad beans)

This is a Persian dish which I often make for my husband. Rice is slowly simmered with fresh dill, parsley and coriander, along with broad beans and spices. In Iran it is traditionally served with fish.
Reviews (34)


21 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: collegechef08
really tasty rice dish, i loved that crispy rice at the bottom of the pan. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: aydan28
i m always one of the Sabzi polow and fava 's fan,but i think you should note pepper,cinnamon and turmeric are optional,with these spice my sabzi polow's tase was a little changed to Indian food,and you can also cook it without fava beans ,and serve it with meat or fish(fried or cooked),it will be more delicious with Iranian rice,
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. This comment is from the author of Persian Sabzi Polo. I apologize for not telling you what to do with the oil. I usually first bring the water to boil, then add the rice and let it boil until the rice rises to the top. Then I drain the rice, add 2 or 3 Tablespoons of oil mixed with half a cup of water in the pot before I mix the other ingredients with the rice and put it back into the pot. Then I cook the rice on medium heat for 5 minutes and then reduce the heat and cook the rice for the remaining time already mentioned in the original recipe. I hope this helps in motivating more people to make this dish. Viostars idea of mixing the oil with the rice and herbs is also good. Note: You can use lima beans from the freezer section in your grocery store instead of fresh fava beans. Thank you....Neda
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ZANNE_STAR said:
Used different ingredients. I have a persian husband and have made this several times and have tweaked it each time and I think I've come up with the perfect version that guests can't stop talking about. I cook the rice with butter and chicken stock and dried onion. When it's done I add fresh chopped dill and parsley, canned fava beans and salt and pepper. Fresh herbs taste better than boiled herbs!! It's simple and everyone who tries it at my house loves it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
02 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: World of Lucky
This is a fantastic dish and my husband really enjoyed it. I ended up cutting it in half recipe size, increased the oil and spices just a little bit and it was so good. I am not normally the cook in our household, I am the baker but his birthday is coming up so I decided to make this. The recipe did get me in trouble though. He was skeptical about me trying something that isn’t just burgers and fries because I don’t normally cook (he cooks a lot, things like Thai food with peanut sauce) but it was a first to me. Now that he realized I can cook like this, he just asked me to make it again for dinner. I am suspecting my days of not being the one cooking dinner at all are over... Still, it was worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: ummbarhuma
This was really good. Still not as good as I've had at the restaurant or the mosque, but that could of been because of me. I will definitely make again when I've got some dill on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: MoniRa
Hi everyone , I think this dish is a mixture of Two Iranian dishes " Baaghali Polow " & " Sabzi Polow" , Baghali polow makes with rice, dill and broad beans which traditionally serves with lamb shank ,but Sabzi polo has no broad-beans in it , it makes with Rice, and a mixture of fresh herbs such as parsley,coriander , Persian chives &dill and serves with fried fish it is a very popular dish for Iranian new year " Nowrooz" ,I am happy to share the original recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
17 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: MEGJ
I did half the recipe and cooked with chicken broth. It was tasty but it didn't wow me. I had cooked in cast iron pan but wasn't able to get enough of the crust that was referred to. I did think that it tasted better the next day when flavor blended more. I did enjoy he burst of cilantro.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: cheesemite
I had never had fava beans before; made this for a Persian dinner guest, and his remark was that it tasted like his mother's cooking. I thought it was delicious. So I made it again the next time I had fava beans - this time they were from my own garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 May 2015
Reviewed by: Greysquirrl
Was so delicious I'm making it again tonight. ..I ate the leftovers yesterday for lunch. Trading is exactly like I remember from my Persian friend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches