My reviews (21)

Creamy pesto herb spread

This spread is so simple if you're in a pinch for what to serve at an impromptu party. Serve with crackers, crudités or pitta triangles. Leftovers are great on a sandwich.
Reviews (21)


11 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: veggigoddess
This is soooo good! It's a million times better than what you get in a store. I added some sun dried tomatoes to it and wow! I dipped anything from carrots, celery, crackers, & bread and it was fab. Why haven't more people tried it? Maybe they will now that there's a review. It was so easy by the way, there's no excuse not to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
With basil so prolific in my garden, this was perfect to use the basil pesto I've already made with it. Since the pesto is already so flavorful and green I didn't bother with either the chives or the cilantro. Actually, I know I wouldn't have liked the cilantro in here anyway, as I find the flavors conflicting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: LISAT5
Fantastic and very, very quick and easy. I used fresh parsley because I didn't have cilantro available and it was wonderful. I'll definitely make this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Kimberly Fugate
Amazing and SIMPLE. I used a little more pesto (probably about 1.5 tablespoons more than the recipe called for) and it was delicious. Takes no time at all, and I also used the 1/3 less fat Philly cream cheese and still great. We used it as a vegetable dip and I used the rest on Triscuits. More people should try this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: AEMAZA
Quick & easy. Although I did not like this, everyone else at the party loved it...even the picky kids. I think next time I'll skip the garlic. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: WEDAC
Wow! Fantastic! This is very easy and very tasty. I need an appetizer for a potluck, and this is perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: missdrea
This was better than I expected. I didn't even use the cilantro or chives(didn't have any). I used a homemade parsley pesto with toasted walnits and fresh grated asiago. A wondeful dip to use up garden parsley and random frozen nuts. Served this with garden veggie crackers and baby carrots. Will make this again for sure. My only suggestion would be to thin it out with a teeny bit of milk (I always do with cream cheese spreads)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: fozziesmom
It was just okay, I wasn't super impressed with this dip. I made it for a party and it wss not a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: giraffegirl
I'm asked to make this dip for every family get together. I use the cheaper powdered pesto and like it much better that way! This is a tasty spread with bagel chips or toasted peta bread
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Lisanne said:
Used different ingredients. This is soooo good! It's a million times better than what you get in a store. I added some sun dried tomatoes to it and wow! I dipped anything from carrots, celery, crackers, & bread and it was fab. Why haven't more people tried it? Maybe they will now that there's a review. It was so easy by the way, there's no excuse not to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches