My reviews (56)

Portuguese Rice Pudding

My mum would always make this delicious, creamy rice pudding and sprinkle cinnamon on top before serving.
Reviews (56)


27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: drodrigues101
It didn't do anything for me. I was really grossed out by adding the egg once it was removed from the heat. It's just missing something. Some lemon peel maybe??
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Shannon Costa Duarte
My family adds unsalted butter to the milk and lemon zest. So delicious! I make this on special occasions. I can see how some add vanilla. That sounds good too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: Gerrie
I liked it but added lemon peel and made it thicker. Very nice thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Brenda Ara├║jo
I hate eggs so I was scared to put 2 eggs and to taste like it so I only put one and it came out AMAZING!!! First time I've ever done and it came out delicious. Everyone loved it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Leah24
So easy and delicious! I doubled the recipe for a cultural event at my son's school and everyone loved it! I made it with whole milk. I followed the advice of others and added vanilla and topped with cinnamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: tweckles
The only sweet rice I will eat, just the way my Avo (grandmother) used to make it! Delicious, I finally have found her recipe, she passed before writing it down for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: missrochester
Excellent! This recipe is Absolutely Delish!! Loved it!! I did have to use light brown sugar and it worked out Wonderfully!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Law
I have made this many times, it's an old family favourite from Portugal. I always add Lemon peel while cooking(large pieces so they can be removed when done) and I only use top quality Arborio rice , it has the best texture. If you don't want to use the lemon peel add pure lemon extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Rshellcab
I use 4 c milk, 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 c sugar and a pinch of salt, use 1 c River Rice for best results, cook on lowest simmer with lid cocked to vent and DO NOT STIR, ( using a quality pot helps ) Add 1/4 cup sugar to 4 beaten egg yolks and add when all liquid is absorbed, sprinkle with cinnamon
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Nick Hall
Didn't work for me I got super frustrated and have up. The rice wouldn't cook in the milk in more than an hour and a half
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches