My reviews (13)

Doughnuts for Hanukkah

These are traditional doughnuts, more commonly known as suphganiot, that are served during the Hanukkah season.
Reviews (13)


11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: aviv
Amazing! I lived in Israel until I was 12. I was skeptical at first, but the first bite send me back to my childhood. I used to get these at our local store during Hannukah. Traditionaly these are injected with some strawberry jam in the center and rolled in powder sugar. If you dont have self-rising flour: For 1 cup self-rising flour use: 1 cup all-purpose flour 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder a pinch of salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: JesusIsTheWay
These were very tasty, and an excellent way to use up sour yogurt (yogurt way past the expiration date that hasn't gone moldy yet). I didn't want to deep fry them so I dipped them in oil and then rolled them in cinnamon sugar (1/2 c white sugar plus 1 T cinnamon) and baked them at 375F for 12 - 15 minutes. They came out very airy and weren't dense at all. Plus not deep frying them made them pretty low fat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JABERNAT
oy vey.. these are just like my bubbe used to make. Wonderful slightly warm with extra sugar sprinkled on them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: REBEKAH39
These were great, especially warm. I can't make them to take anywhere yet though, until I learn how to pronounce it. Thanks. :-)))
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: pecheleleaw
I love real french beignets (not the NOreleans style), and Jewish doughnuts are the only thing that tastes closest! My Israeli friend made them for me for Christmas/Hannukah-she swore I would love them and she was right, they were fabulous! Oh, I love them! Thanks Aviv,for the self-rising sub., and Jesusistheway for the lowerfat version, and M. Levy for the recipe! (It is a good way to not throw that not too old yogurt away..)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: FoodHippie
Excellent! I used 4T white sugar instead of 2T white and 2T vanilla sugar, and vanilla yogurt instead of plain, because that's what I had on hand. I filled them with strawberry jelly and rolled in powdered sugar--so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Enna Miklos
This recipe is a good one. The only thing I would do is make them smaller and put more sugar in. Some of them came out a little doghy in the middle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: AYZIASHA
Once out of the oil, I rolled these in a bowl of powdered sugar....yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: tonton
Yummy. I love jelly donuts and these were awesome. My local jewish bakery makes them sooooo good and this came close.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Wendy Lyons
These are yummy and super easy to make, but the texture and denseness are quite different than traditional sufganiyot. I made a batch of these and a batch of yeast-based sufganiyot (from an Israeli friend's recipe). I took them to a Chanukah party and asked people to vote. Every single person, including several Israelis, voted for the yeast-based donuts. It is still a good recipe for easy donuts, but it's just not the same as traditional sufganiyot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches