My reviews (248)

Sweet Potato Cake with Orange Glaze

Don't be afraid to add sweet potatoes to a cake batter. They have a really creamy texture when cooked and they add a beautiful colour and richness to cakes.
Reviews (248)


05 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MRA1
This is one of the best pound cakes I've ever tasted or made. Used 2 1/2 cups of mashed canned sweet potatoes (1 40oz can) and sweetened it with a little brown sugar, extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Used a pineapple glaze instead of orange. A delicious soft, moist masterpiece. Will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: cranberry brulee
This is an excellent cake. I made the recipe as written & it could not have been more perfect. Great texture and wonderful flavor (slightly milder & less dense than pumpkin). I pureed the sweet potato rather than mashing it, and I only had to bake my cake for about an hour. I am a pastry chef & am very fussy about my cakes, and I will be using this one again. Great cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: ALVENA
This cake is marvelous. I can't keep it around long enough. I changed the flour to cake flour and it is even better. It's a real hit with my friends
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: JOEY E.
This cake was DELICIOUS! But I recommend using cake flour instead of all-purpose. It tastes a 1000% better that way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: PNLewis
This cake is awesome! I used Bruce's canned mashed sweet potatoes (just sweet potatoes - no additional ingredients) instead of cooking and mashing fresh sweet potatoes. It has been a hit every time I make it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: DELKEE
I'm an avid baker and this one is a keeper! Perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas or any other time you want a moist, spiced cake that smells heavenly. I used fresh sweet potatoes and everyone was so impressed with the taste. I think I'll add raisins to the mix next time to see how it comes out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KIMAR
I made this for a ladies luncheon. While I enjoyed it immensely and thought it was great, not one of the ladies asked for the recipe, which is highly unusual for them. Instead of the glaze, I frosted it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this website, and it was very attractive. I found that the cake only needed to bake 1 hour and 5 minutes in my oven. Good thing I checked it then instead of letting it bake the entire hour and 20 minutes or I would have had a burnt cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: SHEILADEE
This was a delicious recipe. I used the cake flour as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not need to bake it for the full 1 hr. 20 min. -- went about 55 minutes and it was well done. I will definitely make this again, perhaps bake for about 5 minutes less. Tastes like a spice cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Natalie Gerland Howell
This cake was dry and not very tasty. I was embarrassed when everyone tried it at the luncheon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: TPESCAL
Since I just learned how to use my kitchen, I am always looking for easy recipes for food days at work. THIS IS IT! I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh to save time. Friends and family all want this recipe. Take it from me, I currently have an icky mess in my kitchen that was supposed to be fudge. I will stick to this recipe from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches