My reviews (39)

Spicy ginger crab cakes

Delicious crab cakes made with fresh ginger, coriander, spring onions and lime juice.
Reviews (39)


21 May 2012
Reviewed by: TEDJAN
This is an excellent dish, was very much enjoyed and shall be again. Thanks Dakota for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Bill Echols
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: lightly salted
These were very good, but milder than I expected. The crab flavor was really what came through. This was just about the best crab cake recipe I've found, but if I make it again, I'll probably add a little more ginger (I like enough fresh ginger to give my food heat) and maybe a touch of fresh crushed garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2003
Reviewed by: KAREN WANG
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I lived in the Northeast where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Bonsai
Ginger is critical to this recipe. It was a complete hit, but since my family likes spice, I added extra ginger. Take care in turning tthe cakes as they are very fragile until turned at least once.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: BucksCoCookin'
This was great! All the reviews were accurate. I made it with 16oz of fresh crab meat and a little less mayo. I chopped up some pickeled ginger instead of the grated. I added a little cracked red pepper and hot sauce for a little more kick. I made them in my hands as one reviewer suggested...worked perfectly. I made about 8 patties that were small hamberger size. I shared these with a good friend who loved them and I will definitely cook this again to impress guests. The leftovers were gold.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: DC Girly Girl
Pretty good. I will definately try this again. Although I will cut down on the mayo a little bit. They do also need "something else"...I'm not sure what yet. Maybe more hot sauce. I will play around with it. I also regret frying them instead of broiling. They soaked up a lot of oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: RPCOOKIE
Pretty darn good, but I made some changes. I cut down on the crumbs and mayo, because I am from Maryland and we don't like too much filler in our crab cakes. I also used only one egg, and that seemed to work fine. The only addition I made was to add a clove of garlic. Overall, I would say this is pretty good and easy. Next time I will either use pre-crushed ginger to avoid biting into bits of it, or just leave the ginger out altogether. I love ginger, but I don't think it was quite what I wanted in a crab cake. Also, I will add extra sauce next time (I used Pickapeppa sauce) to give it more flavor and kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JAN
Wow these are definitely the best I have ever made! Also they are Fancy restaurant quality! I made a yogurt sauce with lime and more cilantro as my husband likes sauces. Also as I was dipping the cakes in the egg/bread crumb mixture I patted an ever so slight amount into the cake thus holding it together better. I also used french bagette for the crumbs and served the leftover cakes (it was just the two of us) on toasted bagette the next day for lunch. Fantastic recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MWILCZAK
These crab cakes were delicious! Fresh tasting with all of the ginger, cilantro and lime. The green onions make it perfect. I served these for New Years Day Dinner and they were a hit. I used about a 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro because we like the herb but otherwise everthing else was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches