My reviews (34)

Stuffed Crown Roast of Pork

A stunning centrepiece for any celebratory meal, this elegant roast is amazingly easy to make. Your butcher can tie the roast for you.
Reviews (34)


27 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: JENN_77
I suggest 375 degrees for 2 1/2 hrs or until thermometer reads 155 -160 degress. Cover (tent) with foil and wait about 20 minutes to cut. Don't wait until it read 175 degrees or your meat will most likely be dry. Will meat is resting it still cooks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Carol King
This was the easiest holiday menu ever. Roast practically prepared itself. First time sausage/pork stuffing got rave reviews! More meat than I expected (got nervous and cooked a turkey breast too, just in case!)Meat was deceiving - only 10 bones, but more than enough meat for 14 people. Butcher should have explained how much add'l meat was there in addition to the chops. All my recipes came from Allrecipes and were wonderful! Root vegetable mix, holiday baked mashed potatoes, special cranberry relish ....just wonderful. Yes, I took a chance trying new recipes on a holiday for 15 people, but I'd read each one thoroughly including reviews & comments and picked out really good recipes. It had been over 25 years since I'd attempted a crown roast...sorry I waited so long!!! Thank you everyone for making my holiday cooking so easy, interesting and successful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: amyfrench
A beautiful main course! Quite an impressive presentation. The taste was excellent - very juicy. the Dressing added lots of flavor. A treat for the eyes and the mouth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: WOLSELEY
This was a great hit this Easter and made a wonderful impression on my husband and children. It was much easier to make than I had originally feared. I had always stayed away from this particular cut because it seemed so daunting. I happened upon one in the butcher shop, however, and my husband said 'go for it'. Pork is my favourite roast and I usually order a pork loin whenever I do a pork roast, but never done up so nicely. I followed the recipe to a 't' and it was wondeful -very, very easy and as I said earlier, made a huge impression. The ONLY problem was that we couldn't figure out to cook the inside of the roast without overcooking the outsides. We ended up just leaving the inside abit raw and then cut around it, and then recooked the pinker parts. The inside was almost raw after over 3.5 hours of cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: WINKS
'Twas a wondeerful Thanksgiving dish (we have a few who don't like turkey, the turkeys!) This is a very tasty stuffing; however, the ingredients call for parsley in two places on the list, but the directions add apples with the celery. I'm wondering if the ingredients should list apple (whatever the amount) and parsley only once. Would appreciate your advice, since I do want to keep this recipe for future use. Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: madyson007
Stuffing was delicious I added craisons too! I cooked it seperately and then put it inside the crown roasst. That is what the butcher recommended and I am really glad I did. Internal temp of 175 is way over done. Take it out at 160 and let let sit. Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: HAPPYCAMPERCAMP
What a hit!! Move over Martha Stewart!! This recipe was easy to follow and made me look like a pro! The chops, cut by my husband, were very thick, over an inch and we still were able to cut with a butter knife, with juices flowing! It was so easy and impressive. The sausage stuffing was the "frosting on the cake" so to speak. My family fought over who was taking home the left overs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: ROBINS31
Made this today for Christmas dinner. WAS AWESOME!! Got rave reviews from the family. It was my first time making a crown roast and it came out great. I also put some chopped fennel,onions, and carrots along side the roast. At the end of the 3 hours you had wonderful, carmelized veggies that suited the pork perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MOTMIK
This was delux!! I used a 5 pound roast becasue I was only feeding 5 and used all the same instructions and it was perfect. I was unable to fit all the stuffing in so I just put the rest in a pan covered in foil and cooked it alondside the roast...It was a major hit!! Nice and tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Lynseey
Wonderful recipe. Was very tasty, a definite hit, and so easy to follow. It was my first time making a Crown Roast, no one would have guessed! The stuffing was superb also. I've been making this around Christmas time for the past 2 years. The stuffing is the best anytime, i often make it as a side dish too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches