My reviews (57)

Easy peasy salsa

Salsa can't be made any quicker than this. Perfect with tortilla crisps for a last-minute party nibble.
Reviews (57)


18 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Dave
This is an absolutely excellent recipe! The recipe claims to make 1.5 cups, I came up with 3+ cups. It's a good thing, though, my wife didn't notice the cup missing. I can tell this will be a weekly-produced appetizer. A quick tip: be careful not to overblend (liquefy), I accidentally turned my blender on high for a brief period and it liquefied the salsa. It is still GREAT, but I prefer a chunkier salsa texture. Thanks so much for your contribution to my household! By the way, I figured that it cost $4.00 (WA St.) to make 3+ cups!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: ELLENEJ22
I really enjoyed this salsa. I did make a few changes, I used two regular tomatoes drained and 1 can of stewed tomatoes, used an extra clove of garlic, added some green onion and two extra serranos for more heat, and a tablespoon of lime juice. I might just use all fresh tomatoes next time, since I could taste the "canned tomato" but it was still delicious. I may also dice half the ingredients and pulse the other half next time so it comes out chunkier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2005
Reviewed by: Jeannie
Always hunting for the best tasting jarred salsa and never finding it, I decided to try making it myself. My hunt is over!! This is hands down the best salsa I've tasted, even better than the home-made salsas I've had at restaurants. I modified it a bit, I used 3 cloves garlic, one can of stewed tomatoes and chopped 4 plum tomatoes as I like having some fresh tomatoes, 1 serrano chili and 1 jalapeno and a bit extra chive. Next time I'll just do 2 serranos as I could have had it a bit hotter, this was about medium heat. But otherwise, this is perfect salsa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: WHITEYBEAR
I thought this was a really great starter recipe. The stewed tomatoes definitely made it too sweet, but the addition of lime juice made all the difference. A little mild for my tastes - next time I'll probably leave the seeds from one of the peppers in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: SCREAN
This was way easier than I thought it would be,and it was very popular at my party...tastes much better than store bought.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Cutie Pie
AWESOME!!! I finally have a recipe to make authentic restaurant style salsa. I tried so many recipes, but no luck until this one. I used canned whole peeled tomatoes packed in tomato juice, I drained most of juice (not stewed tomatoes). I used a few tabs of regular chopped oniom instead of the green onion. I used 1 whole habernero pepper (seeds removed). I pulsed the ingredients in the food processor for a thick slightly chunky consistency. Pretty hot, use less pepper for a milder salsa. This recipe is PERFECT!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JARRIE
I made this as written, and thought it was great, but not perfect. I added some water, some tomato paste from a tube, and some sugar. The extra water, tomato paste, and sugar were because the serranos I had turned out to be SUPER hot and my husband (who loves hot things) requested I "thin it out so his nose wouldn't run" and so that's how I toned down the heat. I think that this is very close to perfect, though I do feel that the chives contributed nothing that a regular onion wouldn't also have contributed, though, so while I will make this again, I'll use a regular onion (the whole thing, too, I hate the "half an onion" measurements). My salsa looks identical to the only picture posted of this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SUSAN JARRETT
Excellent salsa and easy to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Julia C
I loved this Salsa, I made it for a party we had, and I know I am making it for my son's birthday party (there will be lots of people). I think it's the best salsa I've ever had. I used to make my husband go out to Mexican Restuarants to get me salsa and cheese dip almost 3 times a week while I was pregnant, so I had my share lol. Highly recommended!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: BETHW1
This is a great salsa!! Easy to adjust the ingredients to your tastes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches