My reviews (45)

Thai Pork and Prawn Spring Rolls

You can buy the rice paper spring roll wrappers in Asian shops. These rolls are not fried and taste best dipped in the hoisin peanut sauce. Delicious for a summer party.
Reviews (45)


29 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: bandsaw
I just made these for a party and they were a hit. I made some with shrimp (used the frozen stuff (no pork-too much work). I also made some with thai flavored tofu for the vegetarians. Added slices of avocado, cucumber and carrot. Used the sauce listed here and offered sweet/sour sauce. I used chunky peanut butter and it worked well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Leslie Everett Ellis
Yes, this may not be a "thai" recipe, but almost every thai restaurant that I have ever been to has had these rolls on the menu. They call them "thai basil rolls". Vietnamese or Thai, these roll are delicious. The sauce is fantastic. I have made these when I had no pork, just baby shrimp and have even made them vegetarian. Excellent. They save fairly well if put into a container with some damp paper towels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: DCCOOKS
This is a Vietnamese NOT a Thai dish. Please make sure you give proper credit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: iamblessedx7
This is a new family favorite. I love the Thai Basil and mint but my kids (young adults) Don't care too much for it. We just make it to suit our own tastes. I used precooked shrimp and pork as well. I added shredded carrots, a cabbage mix, and sliced french fry size cucumber sticks. I reduced the hoisin sauce to 1/2 cup and I added a tbls. of Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce. I squeeze fresh lime on each bite of my rolls. Love it!!! To the people who are upset about the origin of these rolls, whether they are Vietnamese or Thai, I assumed they were called "Thai Basil Rolls" because they contain "THAI BASIL".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: O1K2
Excellent recipe! Just the right mix of ingredients to make it taste like the ones I enjoy at my favorite Thai restaurant. Peanut sauce is quick & easy too. I also sprinkled peanuts into the wrap for extra crunch & used mung bean sprouts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: MEGANHESS
OMG! Sooooo good. Thai, Vietnamese whatever! It rocks. I made one alteration. After visiting 2 grocery stores and still not able to find the rice wraps and getting hungrier by the minute I decided big lettuce leafs would do and I was right. It was more of a wrap than a roll, but so so so so good (oh and pretty easy too!) Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: RUOWEN
This recipe definitely makes more than 12 summer rolls, and I would recommend cutting down the amount of glass noodles to probably 6-7 oz.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: WeekendWarrior
Served this as a side to some Pad Thai. The recipe was fairly easy to fix and tasty, but I wasn't keen on all the mint it required. I will be scaling back next time or maybe replace it altogether with cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and substituted the pork for some leftover brisket laying around and that didn't seem to hurt it much. I LOVED the peanut sauce! I look forward to doing these again so I have an excuse to make the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: HealthRebootCoach
Excellent! I used avocado slices instead of noodles. Also put a dash of cayenne in the sauce and a bit more peanut butter & water. I used dried mint (a dash in each one) instead of fresh mint. I used Morningstar Sausage Links instead of the pork to make it faster and it was fantastic. Overall, it is time-consuming to put them together (but I tend to be a bit slow). I did it for 2 people and it took about 30 minutes to roll 7 of them. But well worth the time! I couldn't have rated it higher! I want them again tomorrow!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: TJ Sandon
Fresh Spring Rolls are so tasty on a hot summer's day. I think I will try them on a cold Winter's day as well. Thank you for a new twist on my favorite way to make these. The Cilantro and bean sprouts and a crunchy and tangy flair.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches