My reviews (28)

Tofu and Tahini Sandwich Filling

This makes a great vegan sandwich filling. You can replace the sunflower seeds with sesame seeds if you prefer. Try it on a toasted bagel with ripe tomato slices, or on granary bread with lettuce and onion.
Reviews (28)


Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Rete said:
Used different ingredients. This is a fabulous recipe! I even forgot to buy tahini and decided to substitute peanut butter, and that tasted great too. It's kind of a weird combination, but it works. Try it!
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
EdgePepper said:
Used different ingredients. Oh, this is so good! I used red miso and no onion because of my husband but otherwise no changes. I'm not a vegetarian, just trying to get more soy and healthier protein. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to cut meat consumption as it is so tasty!
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: marjo
I needed to amend my first review. I rated this 3 stars the first time, but after letting the flavours blend overnight I would give it a 4. It was fantastic the second day--much better than the day it was made.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DEVPLUM
I thought this turned out to be a little too salty for my taste. I would recommend adding celery. I eat it on bread with tomatoes and cucumbers. Also, it makes a lot, so halving the recipe is a good idea.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: *NurseHatchet*
The ingredients in this didn't sound so good, but boy once it was assembled, it tasted GREAT!! My one year old son loves it too!! What could be better, tasty and vegan.
 
06 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Ellen Fitzpatrick
Hi, I'm the person who submitted this recipe many moons ago. I am somewhat shocked at the sodium content at six servings, and have to advise that I think the recipe really makes 10-12 servings rather than 6, and even more servings when calculated using children's portions. I still love this recipe and eat it often, and just stumbled across it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: SJURISTY
I needed to amend my first review. I rated this 3 cards the first time, but after letting the flavors blend overnight I would give it a 4. It was fantastic the second day--much better than the day it was made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: AHOWERTER
I thought this turned out to be a little too salty for my taste. I would recommend using very sweet onions and adding celery. I eat it on bread with tomatoes and cucumbers. Also, it makes a lot, so halfing the recipe is a good idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: GARRIDANN
I served this at my daughter's fifth birthday party as little tea sandwiches on homemade bread. All the moms asked for the recipe. I sauteed the carrots and onions in olive oil first, because I have trouble digesting raw onions. I skipped pressing the tofu, just cubed it ahead of time and let it dry out on the counter for about a half hour, then used a potato masher to crumble it. I also skipped the seeds. The next time I made it I used just the tofu, miso, and tahini and made it smooth in the food processor to use as a dip for raw veggies. I added some onion powder and nutritional yeast and balsamic vinegar to replace the vegetables, and it was very tasty change of pace from hummus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: KSDANIELS
This is a fabulous recipe! I even forgot to buy tahini and decided to substitute peanut butter, and that tasted great too. It's kind of a weird combination, but it works. Try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches