My reviews (143)

Tofu peanut stir-fry

Cubes of tofu are stir-fried in a wok until golden brown and slightly crispy, then tossed with vegetables and peanut sauce. Serve with noodles, if you like.
Reviews (143)


24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: bubblenut
Tried this last night and it was really good. Even tasted good a few hours later when it had gone cold.
 
14 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Tidds1972
Rubbish! No flavour whatsoever!
 
23 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Darter02
My wife loves when I cook this for her. I made a few changes to make it a little more interesting though. First, I use The Best Thai Peanut Sauce recipe I found on allrecipes. Instead of frozen stir-fry veggies I use fresh red bell pepper, a yellow pepper, fresh snow peas and a can of sliced water chestnuts. I also use a light flour instead of the cornstarch. Before serving I also add a little extra sauce as my wife likes it that way. Personally, I really enjoy making this dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 May 2007
Reviewed by: Avellana
We loved this and declared it "restaurant good." We used fresh veggies (snow peas, mushrooms, onion, red pepper, green onions). I did not batter the tofu, just soaked it in soy sauce and sauteed it. I made my own peanut sauce from this recipe: 3/4 cup light coconut milk, 1 tsp. red curry, 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter, 2 Tbs. brown or raw sugar, 1 Tbs. lemon juice, 1/4 tsp. salt. It was a little sweet, so I recommend less sugar and adding some pepper flakes or paprika. Making your own peanut sauce ensures the sauce is vegetarian, which many store-bought ones are not.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2005
Reviewed by: MAJORSKY
Excellent tofu!! (To make sure the tofu didn't fall apart in the wok, I placed the tofu block under a cookie sheet with a coffee can on top to weight it down. I let it sit for probably 45 minutes. That squeezed out all the excess water.) The veggies were a little on the plain side because they're stir-fried with no sauce, so I added some soy sauce to taste at serving time. I will definitely keep this recipe for the future!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Angel of Harlem
Great recipe changed it a bit added 1 tsp chinese 5 spice to the veggies. I also used raw veggies, green & red pepper, broccoli, mushrooms, kale chopped fine,1 zucchini cooked until tender Only veggies i had, then added 1 scallion chopped 1/2 red onion chopped 2 green onions 1 cup of bean sprouts tossed only to mix in. Cooked the tofu as per the recipe but added some more chinese 5 spice 1/2 tsp. Also 1/2 tsp sambal oelek (HOT) for heat. cooked as per recipe then added (homemade peanut sauce) 1/2 cup whole almonds. Stir in cooked veggies serve. So good no need for any side rice or veggies. Even my 6 & 7 year old liked it. Great recipe thanks Ani. Diane
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: RODCMC
I really enjoyed this dish. A few tips: (1) Use FIRM to EXTRA FIRM TOFU (a response to those complaining about it "falling apart"); I used MEDIUM: that's all I had. (2) I took some frozen green beans, thawed them, cut onions, added celery, salt and FRESH ginger. Great vegetable dish. (3) My minor complaint: too much oil, so I will probably use 1/4 C oil next time. (4) If you have a Trader Joe's in your area, i would strongly suggest using their Peanut Sauce. Fabulous! I only have about 1 TBSP left over, but it was great. I now know to not use too much sauce next I make this dish. Good luck and thanks for reading.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: seattlespice
This is a great recipe! I used fresh veggies: Broccoli, red pepper, green pepper, red onion, bamboo shoots, celery, carrot and bean sprouts. Buy extra firm tofu and cut it into 1/4 to 1/2 inch squares. If you drain the tofu it shouldn't crumble. By cutting it smaller, you get more peanut taste instead of tofu. I also poured the rest of the peanut sauce, from the jar, over the dish when I was done. I might suggest pouring some peanut sauce over the veggies too and heating through if you really like peanut sauce like we do. This makes a great left over for lunch. I added soy sauce to the rice I served it on and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: lisandreasings
I do not hesitate in giving this recipe five stars. My son loves cooked carrots, tofu & peanut butter--so to throw all those flavors together into one recipe turned out to be a real HIT with my preschooler. That means we were able to get peas, broccoli & water chestnuts into him unawares with the fabulous coating of peanut sauce. My husband upped the hot sauce on his serving tableside, my son did not consider his own as-is serving too spicy, & this is a wheat-free recipe (for me), so it won all all fronts! We loved the textures with the fried tofu over rice vermicelli and the crunch of crushed peanuts. NOTE--there is a lot of peanut in here, so if you have even the slightest sensitivity, beware. 2nd note--the time to make this is underestimated. It took lots of prep time--namely making the peanut sauce (I used a recipe from a Stir Fry book, which tasted delicious, but required some food processing). A new favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Julia
Before this recipe, I hadn't discovered a way to make tofu's texture and taste appealing--and this created an incredible stir fry that even kept well over a few days in the fridge. Very good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches