My reviews (43)

Vegan Tofu 'Fish' Sandwich

A fish flavoured burger for vegans. Look for kelp or nori powder in Asian shops. It's delicious in stir-fries too, so you will use it up over time.
Reviews (43)


18 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: toredan
I've been a Vegetarian for 2 1/2 years now and am Vegetarian because I detest how animals raised for slaughter are treated. This means that I once ate, and very much enjoyed meat. Meat replacement recipes like this are fantastic because it means people can continue their eating habits but with the meat/fish replaced to align with their moral values. Judging a recipe you haven't tried just because it doesn't fit your 'family members' moral set doesn't mean this won't fit someone else's perfectly. Also please refrain from speaking on our behalf when you're not Vegetarian yourself. Recipe was nice, only thing I would do differently next time is bake on a wire rack or chip net so that the bottom wasn't soggy. Would cook again.
 
26 May 2015
Reviewed by: GerMac
True Vegans and Vegetarians dont eat meat of any kind. That means that they dont eat meat including fish. That means they would never eat anything that tasted like fish. Tofu in a stir fry beautiful. I have a family member who is Vegetarian and if she tasted Fish in her food she would feel like throwing up. Most Vegans and Vegetarians are like that.
 
24 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: SusieQP
ATTENTION: If you want your "fish" patties to turn out with more of a meat texture, purchase firm or extra firm tofu and freeze it before using. Then, thaw it in a colander and squeeze ALL the liquid out of it before you slice it. If you do not squeeze out the liquid, you will end up with a patty that is mushy and the breading WILL NOT STICK. If you are using the traditional block of tofu, slicing it into 5 or 6 slices also helps. Kelp powder is made from ocean kelp and adds lots of nutrients plus gives it more of a "fish" flavor. If you don't use it, its still good, but don't expect too much of a "fish" flavor. Excellent recipe if you use these tips! Thanks for a great recipe for vegetarians!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: DVDAPEX
I pan fried this in a little olive oil. I topped it with red onion, pickles and mayo. My wife really liked it (and she did NOT like the idea of tofu-anything). She agreed that we'll have this one or two times a month!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: hope062503
Great recipe. I added a little extra garlic powder and paprika to the bread crumb mixture. Pan fried the 'filets' in olive oil instead of baking and used store bought mayonnaiserelish spread. My husband likes warm condiments and cheese so I put the sandwhich in the toaster oven with a slice of cheddar cheese. We are both big fans of tofu, really enjoyed this recipe and will definitely make again, Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: CookinBug
I think this recipe has potential, but there is just one thing that really turned me off about it. The tofu slices were just way too thick for my tastes. I did three slices as directed, but sliced the fourth one in half. Those thinner ones came out super crispy and much more appetizing. I didn't have kelp powder, but I added some Old Bay to give it a little seafood flavor. The tartar sauce was yummy. Thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Renee
I'm rating this 5 stars, but only with a 1 major change in the recipe... fry fry fry it!! I used lemon pepper old bay seasoning rather than the hard-to-find kelp powder, and i also used seasoned bread crumbs. it came out a tad bit too salty, but crispy, fishy and yummy! one more suggestion: open the tofu a few hours before cooking, and use paper towels and a weight to dry it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: JAVACHICK86
This was my choice as my birthday dinner this year (really fancy, I know), and it was so simple that even my boyfriend could make it! I did advise him to fry it, however, which really made the tofu firm up a little and crisped the breading. I think this would satisfy any vegan/vegetarian or fish-eater! Loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Irene56
This was okay - followed recipe exactly, except on preparing tofu. I found the crumb mixture a little too salty. Next time will not add any salt and not pat as much bread mixture onto the slices. Also, not much "fish" flavor, however, I still ate the whole thing as I love tofu. As others may have mentioned prepare tofu by freezing it - I always throw my plastic tubs of tofu into the freezer when I buy them as I like my tofu to have a meaty texture when cooked. Then thaw in the fridge. When it's thawed cut into slices and press between absorbent paper (you can really put a lot of pressure to extract the water without tofu crumbling when it's been in the freezer). You can then cook it however you want to -I won't prepare tofu any other way no matter what recipe I use. I also buy the extra firm tofu. No problems ever with the plastic tub bursting open in the freezer either. Bottom line, I give this recipe 3 stars as it wasn't anything I thought was super delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: D.s.
Fantastic! Instead of a 1 cup break crumbs I added 3/4 Cup Bread Crumbs and 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches