My reviews (64)

Vietnamese beef pho

In this classic soup, paper-thin slices of beef are cooked with rice noodles in individual serving bowls into which hot beef stock, herbs and spices have been added. For a more authentic tasting pho - you will need to go to an Asian shop and buy pho stock cubes.
Reviews (64)


24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KAYTOHARA
This is missing the many spices (Star Anise, Cloves, etc.) that makes Pho...Pho. The Lemon grass also throws it off. I've never seen lemon grass introduced in Vietnamese Pho. It might be in some other types of Asian noodle type soup but never in Vietnamese Pho.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: IRISHMOM1
good Pho. For those of you with difficulty slicing beef thin, try this: Pop your cut of beef into the freezer (suggest you wrap it first in clingfilm)... 10-30 minutes and you'll be dancing - chilly beef makes for easy slicing (be sure to use a sharp knife as well). Bring to room temperature before finishing off in bowl.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KK
Basically, I have a recommendation for authentic vietnamese pho. Go to your local asian shop and buy the actual pho stock cubes. This makes the pho taste authentic, rather than making your own stock or buying british stock cubes. Happy eating!!
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KARONA1958
This is a great pho recipe. The only variations I made were leaving out the basil and hoisin because I didn't have any in the fridge. I would definitely recommend putting the beef in the freezer for about 30-40 mins to make it easy to cut really thin slices. This will now become a regular on our dinner table.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: STEFANY21
Missing important star anise. Soup can't exist without it.
 
05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ink
Basically, I have a recommendation for authentic vietnamese pho. Go to your local oriental/world food mart and buy the actual pho broth cubes. Just ask the cashier. They come in small packages of 6. This makes the pho taste authentic, rather than making your own broth or buying american beef broth. Happy eating!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Mike Nguyen
This is not pho. Don't be fooled into thinking this is pho. Pho is made from hours of cooking beef bones to soften the meat and draw out the bone marrow. What we have here is spiced swanson beef broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Nhi Torres
This is missing the many spices (Star Anise, Cloves, etc.) that makes Pho...Pho. The Lemongrass also throws it off. I've never seen lemongrass introduced in Vietnamese Pho. It might be in some other types of Asian noodle type soup but never in Vietnamese Pho.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Nancy Oliva Cox
Missing important star anise. Soup can't exist without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Zulema011
In response to the one person who classified the traditional ingredients for making this recipe, the anise seeds etc and traditionally used by the Vietnamese. Lemongrass is traditionally used by those of Cambodian and Thai origin which makes just as great a broth. Aside from the lemongrass, you can also add a dried pickled radish found in many Asian specialty stores. These taste really great tender. For added flavor, my family fries a little minced garlic ahead of time until they are golden (takes only a few seconds!) and garnish the pho with them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches