My reviews (20)

Watermelon preserve

A delightful and refreshing watermelon and citrus preserve that will keep the flavour of summer handy all year. Great on toast or crumpets. Cook until the jam reaches the correct temperature.
Reviews (20)


05 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Cashew
Used oranges and lemons with the watermelon and kept the peel - cooked the fruit for 45 mins before adding the sugar to soften it. Refreshing!
 
27 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: willbake4shoes
This is a good recipe for a different kind of preserve. It is beautiful to look at. I made a few changes though, and would make a few more the next time I make it. First, I used one orange and one lemon. Second, I only simmered for one hour and it was perfect. It set up beautifully. It has a good flavor but it is really more of a marmalade. The other thing is that when I was through simmering, the lemon and orange were still pretty big so I took my kitchen shears and cut through the mixture until the peel was nice size; I will do this before the simmering next time. Other than that, if you are looking for a "different" recipe, then you should definitely try this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2007
Reviewed by: cmartcookie
With adjustment for cooking only 1 hour (even at high elevation, 7200 ft.), this came out just fine. Doesn't taste a lot like watermelon - more like citrus "marmelade"; but that could be because the watermelon I used wasn't that good to begin with - which is why I used it! As recipe is written, it only made a little more than 3 half-pints. I made the first batch with 2 lemons, 1 orange. I'm now cooking a 2nd batch, which I doubled, using 1 grapefruit, 2 oranges and 2 lemons. I ran all the citrus through the food processor using the grating attachment. Seeds, membranes mostly stayed above the grater; but additional seeds and membranes can be easily picked out of the pot while cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: MASHWORTH
I think this recipe is wrong - it seems as though the mixture should boil for only 1 hour. I followed the directions to a T and after 2 hours the mixture was very burned. I think with only 1 hour of boil time it would be perfect. May try again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: ScottFamily
This did not end up tasting at all watermelon-y to us, just very strongly lemon flavored. I love the idea, but in reality, it was a big disappointment to my family. If you like lemon a lot, you might want to give it a try, but if you are looking for a melon flavored preserve, this probably is not the recipe for you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Anita
This made 2-1/2 pints for me. They set like preserves should...not too thick, more like a thick pancake syrup perhaps. The flavor is great and my dad liked them. Of course, so far, everyone has turned a nose up at the thought of them...but that makes more for me!!! Was my very first time making these....easy to do. I am making a 2nd batch of a different recipe to compare...though the other didn't mention leaving any of the flesh part of the melon, so I didn't. will have to see which batch I prefer. So far it is this one...simply for ease and least ingredients. Now to compare flavors!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Shelly
Great recipe but I made a few adaptions based on prior reviews. I used about 2.5 lbs of watermelon rind ( was about 1 1/4 of a small sugar baby watermelon), 4.5 cups of sugar, 2 navel oranges thinly sliced on a mandolin( entire orange added), 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 tsp powered ginger and 1 cup of watermelon juice ( I blended some watermelon pink flesh and strained through a sieve reserving 1 cup of liquid). I brought it to a slow boil with lid on to prevent the preserve from developing crystals later and cooked it for about 2 hours until it had reduced to about 1/2 stirring about every 15 minutes until it was thick and syrupy and did not run after being placed on a cold plate after about a minute ( did not use a thermometer). Then processed in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes. It came out delicious like a marmalade. With the adaptions I made 5 1/2 pints. Plan to make more!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: carey
i agree there's too many lemons. my grandmother was famous for her watermelon preserves, and made it almost exactly the same, but with only one lemon, and about 1/2 tsp of cloves. as kids, we couldn't wait to get to mawmaw gussie's house for our treat of fresh biscuits, watermelon preserves, and cafe au lait! she lived in lafayette, louisiana, btw...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Karly-Barney Kelsay
Just finished making these. Got five half pints. They look beautiful so far and they are all sitting except for one that is in the fridge for us to try tonight. I tried a little from the pot and it was delish. I followed the recommendation to use lemon and orange and can't wait to try this on some toast. Does anyone on here have a recommendation on where to store it and for how long? Did anyone leave it a while before opening the jar? I haven't canned in a while so I was hoping to get some advice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Jenni said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a good recipe for a different kind of preserve. It is beautiful to look at. I made a few changes though, and would make a few more the next time I make it. First, I used one orange and one lemon. Second, I only simmered for one hour and it was perfect. It set up beautifully. It has a good flavour but it is really more of a marmalade. The other thing is that when I was through simmering, the lemon and orange were still pretty big so I took my kitchen shears and cut through the mixture until the peel was nice size; I will do this before the simmering next time. Other than that, if you are looking for a "different" recipe, then you should definitely try this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches