My reviews (42)

Never fails Scottish tablet

A crumbly sweet traditional Scottish treat with an easy method. Whisking ensures a gloriously smooth tablet!
Reviews (42)


25 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: LindaMunce
What did I do wrong? Followed to the letter but it didn't set properly. Crumbly on top but still soft in the middle.
 
12 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: sarckybas
never fails as name says..only thing i changed was i put 1 teaspoon of vanilla in as i like that after taste. i will say incase anyone else wondered the same as me the temperature i used was 120 oC in a steel pot and obviously i used unsalted butter..this is proper Scottish tablet that melts in the mouth with no gristle..UPDATE: seen a couple of questions go unanswered here so i will answer a couple. LindaMunce the soft centre can happen if mix is not heated to correct temp(too low temp) or it can be the condensed milk that can cause it too as i found with cheaper brands..nestle condensed milk works best for me and i use 100mls of milk just to wet the sugar and when it starts to simmer make sure temp does not go above 116oC and simmer for about 15mins only until light golden colour then turn up heat slightly for last 5 mins to finish reducing the milk stirring constantly so not to burn the suger..118oc will give soft melt in mouth best kept in fridge ans 120oc is just a bit harder which is better for norm room storage temps i also like to air them overnight to let air dry out any moisture (i use tinfoil cupcakes sleeves so they get moisture). Moocameron -40 mins is a guide also use your eye for light golden colour this means milk is reducing and to get the boil part right and be able to replicate your desired texture everytime u need a thermometer as it can get slightly harder to heat as it reduces so you need turn heat up slow for about 5 mins i average. condensed milk 400g
 
04 May 2014
Reviewed by: Wigwam-Clive
Perfect. I tried another recipe online and it was a yellow gluey mess. This one however was great. Followed the recipe to the letter and it worked perfectly. I kept it in the freezer and have pieces when I fancy it! Thank you.
 
10 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: cjuk
I have just made this tablet and cant believe how easy it was. Other recipes were a hit and miss sometimes coming out like toffee. With this one only difference I done was to use 1 tablespoon of vanilla as we all like that taste. Sons away with 4 bits lol . Brilliant and easy to follow recipe. Will definately make this again.
 
01 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: clareby88
What size tin of condensed milk please?
 
10 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: tbro
This is such a fantastic recipe. I have just made it & it tastes beautiful. Next time I make it I might experiment with different flavours...white chocolate & raspberry. If you like fudge/tablet you have to make this 😁xx
 
08 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: AllanHamilton
Just made my first ever batch of tablet and, as a non cook, was surprised just how easy and successful this recipe really is. Now going to try maple and pecan as additions. Is there any tips of tricks to make the tablet just a tad harder when finished? I love crumbly tablet.
 
14 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: BeccieJoyLemare
I found that it didn't need as long a cooking time as the recipe states. the first time i tried it i did it for that long and the sugar caught. The next time i didn't do it for as long, maybe half an hour and took it off just as it changed colour and thta was perfect. It turned out really well.
 
01 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Jodie.B
Great recipe- worked really well! However, I was wondering whether the recipe would work the same with regular full-fat milk. I doubt it, but I might try because sweetened condensed milk is hard to come across!
 
19 May 2016
Reviewed by: Violetta123
Try mixing coffee..about two teaspoons..and add walnuts...at whisking stage....I also add a little carnation evaporated milk....it makes it ever so creamy...won't make tablet without it now....you can add this at any stage.......Sugargran.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches