My reviews (12)

Traditional Welsh cakes

From the heart of rural mid-Wales come these traditional Welsh cakes. Eaten and enjoyed regularly throughout Wales, these traditional cakes, or a version thereof, have been kicking around for as long as anyone can remember. There is nothing fancy about a Welsh cake, and yet they seem to encompass all that one could ever want in a satisfying mouthful; sweet yet slightly salty, moist yet crumbly, light yet filling. Forget smelling the roses, instead, eat a Welsh cake and watch some rugby! Bendigedig!!
Reviews (12)


08 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Tawny-LeighBerg
It seemed like there wasn't enough flour my mixture was just a gooey mess had to add a lot more flour till it formed a firm dough. A bit disappointed as I'm welsh living in England and these are the one thing I miss the most
 
30 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: LilyDg
Yum yum yum! These were totally lush and went down a treat.
 
30 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: muffet
Made these today for an afternoon tea party and they were fabulous. Light, crumbly - just as they should be. Followed the recipe exactly.
 
19 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Tracky70
My husband bought ready made welsh cakes from a supermarket when we was shopping for food to take night fishing with us as I'd never tried them and told me I was in for a treat. Although they were very nice I decided to look for a recipe to make our own and this one didn't disappoint. They are delicious. Light, crumbly and exactly how they should be. My husband has refused to buy more shop bought versions. I managed to get almost 30 from following the recipe.
 
21 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Bakeman
Made to the recipe and they are great, light, crumbly and sooooo easy to make.
 
05 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: BrigitteCirilli
I made this for a Welsh friend for his bday. The feedback was that these are good but his wife puts in mixed spice and a bit of lemon zest. I'll be adding that next time to the recipe! I also used a regular frying pan and will be using a stone the next time! Thanks for the recipe!
 
21 May 2017
Reviewed by: DebiGee
this recipe was very crumbly and extremely sweet. it made the welsh cakes crisp. Back to the drawing board trying to find a recipe like my mother made.
 
27 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: suzimalt
just made these to try out my new bakestone...gorgeous...light and flaky
 
16 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Sammywhammy
Melt in the mouth gorgeous. So simple
 
14 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: JennyG31
Enjoyed making these and they taste divine! We (my daughter and grandson) have made these so she can raise some funds for children in need this coming week... We managed to add some chocolate chips and cocoa powder and omit the sultanas to make double choc welsh cakes! We also made them as delicious plain welsh cakes ... yep we could think of a few more versions too!! thankyou
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches