My reviews (30)

Courgette and lime cake

A local favourite that was once sold at a local cafe that sadly closed down. The lime filling is sweet and tart while the cake itself is soft and moist.
Reviews (30)


09 May 2015
Reviewed by: KatharineManning
Photo from a visit to The Potting Shed Cafe, Great Park Farm Nursery, East Sussex. They tweaked this by adding moist raisins to the cake and a luscious layer of lemon curd on top of the icing (inside only)
 
18 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: LianaDavies
Made this yesterday - absolutely delicious!! Mega hit with the office guys and gals too. Will definitely be making this again :D
 
01 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: alotty
A really lovely cake and a great way to use up the courgettes! It's had the thumbs up from everyone that has tried it. Just a note about the icing - I used a 250g tub of cream cheese and 300g of icing sugar and the lime. You have to keep beating it to get it to thicken, even when you think you can't beat it anymore, do some more! It was perfect.
 
20 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: LucyCassidy
such an amazing recipe... so simple makes a great light yummy cake! next time I will add 1/3 ingredients to the cake mixture for a bigger cake and 1/4 less of the cream cheese filling as had lots of icing left over..
 
15 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: Vcpc1
Hand on heart I can honestly say this is the best cake I’ve ever made. Never had it before and looked for recipe after tasting some in a small cafe. It’s absolutely delicious.
 
26 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: Simonh82
This is such a superb recipe it is really reliable. I've made it about 5 times, scaling the recipe up to 4 eggs and it is very forgiving (I overcooked it by 15-20min and got away with it). The cake itself is quite plain without any flavouring so I add the grated zesty of a lime and some natural lemon essence which works well. Make sure you grate the courgette with a fine grater and really squeeze the liquid out of it (especially if using overgrown marrows like me) otherwise the cake will be too wet. I also found one large tub of Philadelphia and 100g of sugar is plenty for the icing.
 
02 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Kazz
Added 1/2 tsp lime oil. Would also reduce amount of icing as far too much! Doubled recipe. Used deep tin and halved after baking. Each tin takes 865 g mixture.
 
29 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: DeborahJohnstone
I agree with alotty about the icing. Mine was a disaster. I'm not a great cake maker and so stuck religiously to the recipe although I did think the quantities had to be wrong. The icing as per the recipe was a disaster. Far too much of it and I couldn't get it to thicken. I think there's far too much cheese to icing sugar. Gutted as the cake itself was nice tasting.
 
27 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: wrighty242
Really enjoyed this, my first attempt at a courgette cake! Adjusted a little after reading other reviews, and also made in a 2lb loaf tin, instead of 2 round tins, so 60 mins baking time was required. Added a few sultanas, and reduced the sugar and oil a little (used 110g and 100ml respectively). Also added some lime juice to the cake itself. The icing needs full fat cream cheese, otherwise it can be quite runny. As I only had light Philadelphia, I used less cheese, more icing sugar, mixed in some cornflower to thicken the mixture up, along with the lime juice and zest, and then put into the fridge whilst the cake was baking. Overall very successful! Family loved it, a great way to use up a couple of tired courgettes, and I will DEFINITELY be making this one again!
 
08 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: CJH1969
Made this for the second time yesterday. First time was a bit of a stodgy mess, so I cut the oil back to 100ml, mixed it in for much longer than previously (10-15 minutes in the food mixer until it was much thicker and a pale yellow) and made the icing with a mixture of 100g of butter and 225g of cream cheese with the same quantity of lime juice and icing sugar to get it to thicken. This worked so much better - absolutely delicious!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches