My reviews (8)

Homemade classic pork sausages

These classic homemade pork sausages are a staple in our family and loved for their simplicity and versatility. Much easier to make than you might think, all you need is a meat grinder with a sausage funnel attachment and a little adventurous spirit!
Reviews (8)


17 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Jaxx8252
My first attempt at sausage making. This recipe was easy to follow and the result delicious!
 
07 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Izi
This is my first go at sausage making. Loved the taster patty though might use less salt next time. Just got to put in the skins - promises to be interesting. Just so excited to try pork n bramleys also pork n red onion. Thank you for such a fab selection x
 
04 May 2018
Reviewed by: VictorB
I am very new to sausage making, so new I have not started yet. Just looking at trying this recipe and need to know with regards to the pork belly, I am assuming the 900g is including the fat and obviously no skin. Here in a sleepy town in South Africa it is difficult to get some cuts of meat. If the pork belly is only the meat and no fat then there will be a lot of waste. Help please. Star rating is on the look and not yet the taste
 
20 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Gerry58
This was my first attempt at making sausages and I found it quite easy though I found that this recipe had far too much salt next time I will cut the salt down to around 1tbs thats my only criticism - too much salt
 
03 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: ZoeLA
I have 3 extremely fussy children and they loved the sausages.... Iā€™m delighted šŸ˜
 
24 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: whyte_wulf
In one word perfect.! As an expat (now in USA) one of the few things I miss from my homeland are "proper" sausages. This recipe got me there.! Very happy with the results! Most chefs don't mind folks making a few "tweaks". So here are mine:- I subbed powdered garlic for fresh garlic, and added some onion powder. I also left out the breadcrumbs. For the meat I used "country style ribs" as they have pretty much the balance of fat to flesh. The surprising ingredients, that I have been missing till now are powdered ginger and coriander. They make the difference. Thanks for sharing RonD
 
20 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: EssexRider
Having been on an Artisan sausage making course, I was anxious to try the artisan sausages. Not impressed, but I had a great mincer and sausage stuffer so I thought I would try this solid looking recipe. Well, they turned out juicy and delicious. We (my wife and I) had our first taste of the mix the following morning in the form of breakfast patties from the left over mix we couldn't put in the stuffer. The following weekend we tried the real thing. Easily the best sausages ever. Meaty and juicy at the same time. The hog skins held up well (I chose the small skins to make chipolatas) and I can honestly say I can't see me buying another shop bought sausage. I did slightly tweak the recipe by using garlic powder as fresh garlic tends to oxidise and turn black, but other than that I followed it exactly.
 
21 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Spicymeatballz
Spot on recipe, easy as you like. Used garlic powder 1/2 tablespoon and not so much salt...superb!!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches