In this savoury tart, peppery watercress, caramelised onions and sweet red pepper combine for a terrific taste.
Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
I made this dairy-free by replacing the milk with a mixture of water and oil, and using parmesan-style vegan cheese. I must point out that I'm not a fan of vegan cheeses, but this one was soya-free and not as awful as many others I've tried. The quiche came out really tasty despite the cheese, even my carnivorous friends enjoyed it. With some real (i.e. dairy) hard cheese I'm sure this would be amazing! - 03 Jul 2012