My reviews (44)

American cornbread, sausage and pancetta stuffing

We got this recipe from our American cousins living in the south when we visited them for Christmas one year! It was so delicious and full of yummy flavours. They showed us how to make cornbread from scratch, which lends a soft, sweet taste to this recipe, however if you are short on time you can buy a cornbread mix from speciality shops online.
Reviews (44)


23 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Tee
Scaled down the recipe for a trial run before Thanksgiving. Came out great! I'm not a fan of sage or poultry seasoning, so I used a bit of oregano instead. Had a great flavor. Left out the pine nuts, but will consider adding them in next time. Was a bit on the salty side, so for Thanksgiving, I'll use low-sodium chicken broth and not add any additional salt. Can't wait for the family to taste it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Dave The Cook
Perfect! The only thing I changed was substituting unsalted sunflower kernels for the pine nuts. A cup of pine nuts was over 12 bucks at the grocery. The same amount of sunflower seeds was 1.40...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: n2scooks
My sister was going to make Stove Top stuffing for Thanksgiving and even though I don't usually care for it, I really didn't want that. Did a quick search and decided to try this. OMG! Really good! But not a quick dish. So I adjusted some things a bit. I cooked the sausage & thick cut, peppered bacon and the onion & celery all the night before. Stored it all in a container refridgerated overnight. The next day added the rest of the ingredients as recipe dictates. I did consider omitting the pine nuts due to the expense however they are totally worth it. A bit soggy but I should've used the entire french bagette instead of worrying about following the measurements to the letter. I added Oregano, white pepper & garlic salt along with the spices as listed. Not sure it needed all the butter on top. Lots of left over so it can be served as a good breakfast dish with an egg over easy on top. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: elandam53
This is probably the best stuffing I've ever had. This completely out-classed everything else on the dinner table this Christmas. The only change I made, saving time for myself, was to use a bag of cornbread stuffing w/out seasoning in place of crumbled cornbread. It was so good I was handing out the recipe like it was lottery tickets. awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: mamaterhune
everyone loves this dish., mom, dad and kids think this is the keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: TOBYGATOR
This was the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner. I used Pepperidge Farms cornbread stuffing instead of making my own cornbread. Next year I'll use real cornbread. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It is definitely time consuming so next time I'll start prep two days ahead. Well worth the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2011
I used sun flower seeds instead of pine nuts as another review suggested and I couldnt stomach it at all. The flavors were perfect but that random crunchy texture (I usually love all things crunchy) was unpleasant. I will omit any kind of nuts next time. It tasted great otherwise, I cooked it in our turkey not in a dish also
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Mylissa
I made with recipe several years ago and since then it has been requested yearly. Now one of the new faves on the Thanksgiving table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: David
My Neice made this today for the first time and it is awesome! I couldn't wait to get home and print this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: CHRISTEL2003
Sorry to leave a poor review. This was far to spicy and greasy for us. Yes I cut down the spices to 1/3 of the recipe and drained the sausage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches