My reviews (782)

Chris's chicken tikka masala

Here's my version of this classic chicken curry. I usually make double or triple the quantity of the sauce at one time because it freezes very well. I also add much more than the 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper that I have listed here so please adapt if you prefer more heat.
Reviews (782)


30 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: LaineyT214
Got to admit I hadnt planned on making a tikka husband loves a madras but thought got a load of chicken in lol...So I thought Id try this recipe. Well I said to my husband ok before you moan thought Id try something different lol... He loved it. I loved it I had 2 lots and the rest that was left over the next day for my dinner lol. Id say try this its simple enough to do and my god its lovely Going to make it again at weekend because my son said he loves chicken tikka. Only thing was at the end it said add curry powder but didnt have any in so think I sprinkled a bit of cummin in instead lol Sorry currymonster lol.
 
01 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: CurryM0nster
Great recipe Chris, went down a treat and simple to.
 
22 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: DellaBallard
This was fab even my fussy daughter liked it
 
21 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: emmajones711
Never write reviews for recipes on here but wow. I thought with all the good reviews i should give this recipe a try (i must admit i had no passata in so used tomato puree and chopped tomatoes). My family said it was the best curry they have ever had and I'm not much of a chef and they weren't just being polite! So yummy. I just want to make it again and again!!!
 
18 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: DiscoDave1964
Well this is simply awesome the whole family loved it !!
 
07 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Davebr
Great curry easy to make our favourite curry by far
 
26 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Manilas1
It is great, my hubby said was better than the one in the restaurant and he doesn't usually pays compliments unless food is really tasty. It is easy to make as well, thanks Chris.
 
13 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: diochick
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. While it may seem like a lot of work, to the uninitiated, it is completely worth every second. I didn't change a thing, it's perfect the way it is. This has become a staple in my house. It freezes well, and even storing in the fridge as leftovers- reheats superbly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Jami77
Having said that, I am a health freak who loves curry and Indian food and cannot eat full fat/calorie versions, so I often tweak mine. This recipe is amazing as is and is better than what most Indian restaurants serve. To make it healthier, I used an 8 oz.can of tomato sauce, a 6 oz.can of tomato paste, and 1 cup of fat-free half and half. The tomato paste will compensate for the liquidity of the fat-free half and half. I also used about 1 tbs of olive oil in place of ghee, and used a little olive oil spray when I added the spices to the onions. For the chicken, I marinated it in a yogurt/spice mixture and broiled it in the oven before mixing it with the tikka curry. Like I said, original version is 10 stars, and IMHO so is the reduced fat version. I served it with whole wheat homemade roti and roasted peppers/green beans. My Pakistani husband was more than impressed with the flavors and refused to believe it was healthy! Thank you for this amazing recipe that will become a staple in our household!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: DLECOUNT
Sweet Baby Jesus! This is THE Tikka Masala recipe for the masses as well as the elites! Simple to prepare and wonderful to consume! I recommend preparing this dish just as it is written...then modify if you want. The recipe here provides a wonderful dish with a little heat but not a burn. PERFECT IN MY OPINION! I like heat and will probably add more next time but it is not necessary as this dish is absolutely perfect the way it is. Golf clap!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches