My reviews (922)

Chris's chicken tikka masala

Here's my version of this classic chicken curry. I usually make double or triple the quantity of the sauce at one time because it freezes very well. I also add much more than the 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper that I have listed here so please adapt if you prefer more heat.
Reviews (922)


30 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: LaineyT214
Got to admit I hadnt planned on making a tikka husband loves a madras but thought got a load of chicken in lol...So I thought Id try this recipe. Well I said to my husband ok before you moan thought Id try something different lol... He loved it. I loved it I had 2 lots and the rest that was left over the next day for my dinner lol. Id say try this its simple enough to do and my god its lovely Going to make it again at weekend because my son said he loves chicken tikka. Only thing was at the end it said add curry powder but didnt have any in so think I sprinkled a bit of cummin in instead lol Sorry currymonster lol.
 
01 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: CurryM0nster
Great recipe Chris, went down a treat and simple to.
 
22 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: DellaBallard
This was fab even my fussy daughter liked it
 
02 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: deano777
This is by far my favourite chicken tikka masala recipe! I did make some changes though. Only added half a teaspoon of salt, increased the curry powder to 1 teaspoon and used a can of coconut milk instead of cream. Once all the ingredients had come to a simmer on the hob I transferred to the slow cooker on low for 6 hrs. Delicious!
 
06 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: JoKelly
Oh. My. Goodness. 10 out of 5! My boyfriend said it's the best tikka he's had by miles, better than any restaurant, and I agree! Few little tweaks for personal taste; used half the salt to season the chicken, alongside curry powder and a teaspoon of garam masala. I fried the chicken first, put to one side & used the same skillet to make the sauce. I used double the spices but split in half, fried half as directed and added the rest to the sauce halfway through cooking. I added crushed up cashews and fresh chopped coriander (cilantro) at the end. Was truly wonderful, one of the best meals I've ever tasted, never mind made! My 2 year old loved it (I added yogurt to cool it down for her). Thank you so much for a beautiful recipe xx
 
26 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: LuWard
Spot on! First time making it and the other half was worried it would be mild but it has a great kick to it. I supplement chicken with mushrooms, spinach etc as I'm a vegetarian. Definitely be using this again. I did it in a slow cooker rather than on the hob worked well.
 
21 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: emmajones711
Never write reviews for recipes on here but wow. I thought with all the good reviews i should give this recipe a try (i must admit i had no passata in so used tomato puree and chopped tomatoes). My family said it was the best curry they have ever had and I'm not much of a chef and they weren't just being polite! So yummy. I just want to make it again and again!!!
 
18 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: DiscoDave1964
Well this is simply awesome the whole family loved it !!
 
07 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Davebr
Great curry easy to make our favourite curry by far
 
26 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Manilas1
It is great, my hubby said was better than the one in the restaurant and he doesn't usually pays compliments unless food is really tasty. It is easy to make as well, thanks Chris.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches