My reviews (43)

Gluten free chocolate mug cake

This is my favourite mug cake recipe that has no gluten and no added sugar. It's a quick dessert that will satisfy any sugar or chocolate craving! Espresso or strong coffee can be used in place of coffee essence.
Reviews (43)


22 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: LilSnoo
Looking for a sweet treat, I decided to try this mug cake to change things up from the other recipe I normally use. This was very good and quick! The only changes I made were to use coconut oil instead of olive oil (I find the olive oil flavor too strong for cakes) and I used vanilla extract instead of coffee extract. This rose beautifully and I enjoyed the light texture. Also, unlike the other mug cake I make, this one pulled away from the sides nicely and could have easily been turned onto a plate. No sticking! And no time for a pic either! Thanks for sharing your recipe DenaMarie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Autumn Doyle
I didn't have any eggs so I used liquid egg whites and it turned out amazing!! This is the best cake I've ever tasted paleo or not! I'll definitely be making it again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Heather
I followed the recipe as written. If you're used to eating paleo this is a great quick treat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Yoly
I used coconut oil and vanilla extract because that's what I had on hand. It was just ok, tasted a lot better once I topped it with whipped cream. I don't think I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Happy Mama
AMAZING!!! I'm new to the paleo diet and was so pleased to find this recipe. It is the best mug cake I have ever tried! I couldn't help but add extra chocolate chips. Thank you!!(:
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Tanya
Tasty and easy. I didn't have coffee extract, used about 1/4 tsp instant coffee
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: Sara Potter
I used coconut oil instead of olive and 1/4 t. vanilla instead of the coffee flavoring since it was what I had in the house. It's pretty darn good. I'd recommend not melting the chocolate chips completely so you still get those little hits of chocolate in the cake. The 1 1/2 min. cooking time was spot on. You'll likely want whipped cream on it if you have it, but it's very nice on its own, and the texture was surprisingly light. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Tanya Stafford
What a sinful treat! I added vanilla, instead of coffee extract, and unsweetened dark chocolate. Granulated palm sugar to sweeten and WOW a totally guilt-free lil cake. I put some coconut milk ice cream on the top and let it melt into the cake...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Munderwho
What a fabulous idea! My daughter has dietary limitations so she is always on the hunt for flourless, dairy-less desserts. This was so delicious I can't wait to share it with her. I made two minor tweaks: I used coconut oil instead of olive oil; and I poured a few chocolate chips on top before baking (I only had a few left in the bag and didn't want to waste them). I think next time I may try it with a little dollop of coconut cream. Mmmmmm! Thanks so much for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2014
Reviewed by: Allison
Use big mugs!!! Rises a ton!!! Tastes good
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches