My reviews (8)

Nectarine salsa

A tangy salsa made by gently cooking marinated nectarines and red onion. Perfect for summer and great as a side to barbecued fish or chicken! Add some fresh coriander leaves for serving.
Reviews (8)


05 May 2011
Reviewed by: AmyG
Absolutely FANTASTIC! Honestly, I liked it enough that I ate it straight up with a spoon. The tang of the balsamic with the sweet of the fruit plus the sharp onoins really is an incredible mix!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Apple Jacks
I liked this quite a bit, but my boyfriend wasn't a big fan. We served it over rice as an accompaniment to the Oaxacan Tacos you can find on this site. The vinegar taste is a little strong, I think. Since we have some left over, though, it might be good on top of bruschetta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Alice
I doubled the recipe for all ingredients except balsamic vinegar. I used a pear infused balsamic, fresh cilantro and dried cranberries after it cooled. The salt and pepper really balanced the sweetness of the nectarines. I served it with poached salmon. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: donna
This is really awesome! I left out the cilantro cuz we don't like it, but we didn't miss it! I did not cook it, left it fresh. Really good with the balsamic vinegar, more like a relish, but my son added hot taco sauce to his when we put it on steak tacos with freshly fried corn shells, and it was just SO good! I think it would be good with any type of meat, grilled food, fish, Mexican, whatever! Now I know what to do with those nectarines that aren't ripe and sweet when I bring them home from the store...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: HandyGrrl
Love this! I never use the sugar or cilantro and would agree that about 1/2 of the balsamic is all that's needed. Also great over fish using other fruit such as apples!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: marie of romania
Looking over this recipe, the amount of balsamic vinegar didn't make sense. So I cut the amount in half--and it was STILL too much vinegar...plus, it lacked complexity--the cilantro and balsamic don't play well together, ime, and it was missing some heat. (Maybe some pepper flakes?) It wasn't awful, but wouldn't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: NiseyT
I followed the directions exactly but my finished product looks nothing like the photo. How do you tell if your nectarines are lightly browned when they are covered in dark brown vinegar? This salsa was better before I cooked it. If I make this again I will cut way down on the balsamic vinegar. It was still tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Dad
I followed recipe precisely and was disappointed. No tang. I think what was missing ,as a I had a dud red onion. Just the right amount of balsamic, Had no onion flavor. Will try again with another red onion, hopefully sharper..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches