My reviews (13)

Dairy free homemade dark chocolate

Homemade dark chocolate using 3 simple ingredients - coconut oil, cocoa powder and maple syrup.
Reviews (13)


15 May 2016
Reviewed by: Meryl Mailloux
This is a great recipe! As I started making this, I realized it was a bit lacking in directions. After trying to mix the ingredients and having it very lumpy, I put my stove on the lowest possible setting and barely warmed the mixture for two minutes or so. I did not want the coconut oil to completely liquefy. It was just enough to turn the mixture into this silky smooth texture. I put the chocolate into silicone muffin pans like others suggested and then added different toppings to several of them. Slivered almonds, crushed hazelnuts, macadamia nuts (salted for that yummy sweet-salty combo!), coconut /chocolate chips and white chocolate/ raspberry chips. What an easy way to serve an assortment for guests. Next time I'll try cranraisins and raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: J Cassem
So yummy! The first time I made this, I heated the oil on the stove then added the other ingredients. After stirring for a little bit, the oil actually separated from the maple chocolate. I made this again tonight, and instead put the jars of hardened oil and syrup in a warm-hot water bath in my sink for about an hour to melt. It turned out perfectly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
Five-star chocolate from a non-maple syrup lover. The flavor of this chocolate does not even hint of maple (a plus for me) but instead is rich and delicious. It is not sweet, more like a 75% cacao chocolate bar. I used a silicone mini-muffin mould to shape them. I made a half batch resulting in 10 pieces weighing 27 grams each. After a while in the fridge they harden enough to remove and eat like a chocolate treat or roll into a ball and dust with more cocoa powder like a truffle. Melt in some warm almond milk or freeze. Really, just a great recipe with endless options for use. Thank you for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Mishushie
This is an awesome recipe. I changed a little though: 2/3 cup of maple syrup 1/3 cup of coconut oil 1 cup cocoa powder (unsweetened) Hope you enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: scottyD
This is undoubtedly the most decadent chocolate dessert I have ever had. A little more instruction would have been good. I consider myself "kitchen savvy". I was a little lost after mixing the ingredients together. I put it in a muffin tin and popped it in the fridge. I feel there could be a ton of possibilities for this dessert. Great recipe and SO easy. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Giuliana
EVERYONE NEEDS TO TRY THIS! Honestly, it just melts in your mouth so easily and it is so delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Roseanne
Yummy! Heated the coconut oil slightly, in the microwave, so it would mix easier. Taste test "Excellent". Added some sliced almonds, just because. Put in a muffin tin to cool. Will absolutely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Loren Klein
I wish I m elted the coconut oil first because it was hard to mix when it was raw and trying to get the chunks mixed was a pain. Tasted amazing though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: SHRLYANN
Love this recipe! I gave 5 stars for it's versatility and simplicity. So very many ways to change this up by adding, topping or incorporating almost anything to suit your taste. I found by continuing to stir the mixture cleared up the separating issue. Also, if using a muffin tin (I used a mini muffin tin) line with paper liners for ease in removing the candies from the mold. For me, the ease of combining the ingredients is also my biggest drawback. It melts so readily that it's difficult to hold long enough to eat. (Definitely will melt in your mouth AND in your hand). However, this would make it very easy to add as a decadent ingredient in other recipes. I think experimention is in my future. Experiment 1 ...Combine 3 pieces with 1 cup milk, 1 1/2 tbsps. cornstarch, 1/4 cup Splenda over medium heat and stir til thick and creamy. Stir in 1 tsp. vanilla and pour into half cup dessert bowls. Voila! Chocolate pudding! Or çook to less than pudding consistency and use as a sauce for pound cake or ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2017
Reviewed by: luv_peppers
great! made chocolate covered strawberries with this. awesome thing is you can adjust the sweetness level to your liking
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches