My reviews (12)

Dairy free homemade dark chocolate

Homemade dark chocolate using 3 simple ingredients - coconut oil, cocoa powder and maple syrup.
Reviews (12)


15 May 2016
Reviewed by: Meryl Mailloux
This is a great recipe! As I started making this, I realized it was a bit lacking in directions. After trying to mix the ingredients and having it very lumpy, I put my stove on the lowest possible setting and barely warmed the mixture for two minutes or so. I did not want the coconut oil to completely liquefy. It was just enough to turn the mixture into this silky smooth texture. I put the chocolate into silicone muffin pans like others suggested and then added different toppings to several of them. Slivered almonds, crushed hazelnuts, macadamia nuts (salted for that yummy sweet-salty combo!), coconut /chocolate chips and white chocolate/ raspberry chips. What an easy way to serve an assortment for guests. Next time I'll try cranraisins and raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: J Cassem
So yummy! The first time I made this, I heated the oil on the stove then added the other ingredients. After stirring for a little bit, the oil actually separated from the maple chocolate. I made this again tonight, and instead put the jars of hardened oil and syrup in a warm-hot water bath in my sink for about an hour to melt. It turned out perfectly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
Five-star chocolate from a non-maple syrup lover. The flavor of this chocolate does not even hint of maple (a plus for me) but instead is rich and delicious. It is not sweet, more like a 75% cacao chocolate bar. I used a silicone mini-muffin mould to shape them. I made a half batch resulting in 10 pieces weighing 27 grams each. After a while in the fridge they harden enough to remove and eat like a chocolate treat or roll into a ball and dust with more cocoa powder like a truffle. Melt in some warm almond milk or freeze. Really, just a great recipe with endless options for use. Thank you for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Mishushie
This is an awesome recipe. I changed a little though: 2/3 cup of maple syrup 1/3 cup of coconut oil 1 cup cocoa powder (unsweetened) Hope you enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: scottyD
This is undoubtedly the most decadent chocolate dessert I have ever had. A little more instruction would have been good. I consider myself "kitchen savvy". I was a little lost after mixing the ingredients together. I put it in a muffin tin and popped it in the fridge. I feel there could be a ton of possibilities for this dessert. Great recipe and SO easy. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Giuliana
EVERYONE NEEDS TO TRY THIS! Honestly, it just melts in your mouth so easily and it is so delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Roseanne
Yummy! Heated the coconut oil slightly, in the microwave, so it would mix easier. Taste test "Excellent". Added some sliced almonds, just because. Put in a muffin tin to cool. Will absolutely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Loren Klein
I wish I m elted the coconut oil first because it was hard to mix when it was raw and trying to get the chunks mixed was a pain. Tasted amazing though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2017
Reviewed by: luv_peppers
great! made chocolate covered strawberries with this. awesome thing is you can adjust the sweetness level to your liking
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: Cosette Kendall
It was good I used sugar free syrup, Hershey's dark coco powder and melted the coconut oil in the microwave first and put walnuts on top
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches