My reviews (40)

Radish and cucumber salad

This is a salad of sliced radishes, red onion and cucumber with a garlic and fresh dill vinaigrette.
Reviews (40)


02 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I went out and bought fresh radishes specifically for this salad. I only added some fresh ground pepper, no other changes. I made this when I got home from the store this morning and left it in the fridge for a couple hours before I scooped some out and ate it for lunch. This is the tastiest way I've eaten radishes, pretty much EVER. This salad is incredible. I'm about to go fix another bowl it's so good. WOW!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: RainbowJewels
I over planted this year and had about 10 lbs of radishes from my garden to use. Just came across this recipe and it is so good! I left out the white sugar, but made no other changes. This was simple and a great alternative to just throwing radishes into a tossed salad. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: jreuter123
Even the people who said they didn't like radishes ate it and liked it. Had green onions from the garden and used those in place of the red onion. Turned out great and it was all gone by the end of the evening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: potamun
Made this last night and loved it. I omitted the sugar (I just forgot actually), and used dried dill instead of fresh (for converting to dried herbs, remember the baseline of 1 TBSP fresh = 1 TSP dried), and it was quite the nice accent. I imagine the vegetable selections are exchangeable, but I prefer to eat vegetables that I normally don't (the radish!), and this combo of flavours works well. Leaving it to set is also definitely important - I taste tested multiple times during the hour, and it was definitely better the longer it sat. Will make this again, esp. in the summer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: sylbillvia
wonderful with chopped cabbage as a coleslaw. The juices make great dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Thisni Caza
Excellent. A different (to me) way to use a couple of summer favorites. I had my chopper out, so I used it to cut the radishes and cukes into a small dice. Next time I'll use a larger dice because the small dice turned out more like a veggie salsa. Tasty and healthy. The fat grams in the nutrition data are way overstated. The recipe calls for 4 teaspoons of olive oil per serving which is 18+ fat grams per serving. So if you serve this dish with a slotted spoon, you won't be eating that full amount of the dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Shecky32
Yum! Different and refreshing. The dill is a nice touch. I subbed 1 tbs applesauce and 1 tbs orange juice instead of adding sugar, and also added chopped celery. Excellent way to mix up the menu and looks great on the table!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Alex
I liked it. It's not something I would want to eat all the time, but there's nothing wrong with the salad, I'm just not THAT into radishes. There wasn't anything I thought of changing though. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Margar
A very nice way to use the radishes I got in my CSA basket. I am not a huge fan of radishes, but my husband is. I was pleasantly surprised that I actually liked this. Hubby loved it, of course. We enjoyed it 2 days in a row tossed with salad greens and leftover cooked chicken for some very satisfying lunches. With just the 2 of us taking a few days to eat through this, it did get soggy and ugly in the fridge, but it still tasted yummy, and mixing it with the salad greens helped maintain the fresh crunchy texture. Will make again when I receive radishes in my CSA. Otherwise, I don't really go out of my way to buy radishes. Thanks for helping me find a way to enjoy them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: JK
My husband said "Radishes are a garnish, this should not be a recipe". I liked it okay, but it isn't a remake for me. If you LOVE radishes, go for it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches