My reviews (34)

Kibbeh

Kibbeh is a traditional lamb meatball dish from the Middle East made with lamb mince, bulgur wheat, fresh mint and spices. Serve kibbeh with tahini, a sesame seed paste.
Reviews (34)


12 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: SONIAEDGAR
I was surprised to find a recipe for kibbeh here... it's very similar to my recipe which is also very popular in Brazil. I finally found bulgur CAN be found here and the first thing I made was kibbeh. My recipe takes toasted pine nuts (about 1/2 cup) mixed in and you can place the whole mixture in a 9x13 baking pan (foil or glass) and bake it at 350F for 30/35 minutes. It's very popular to serve this way as well. I use to make a little vinaigrette to serve on the side: diced tomatoes, cucumbers, chopped parsley, some hot pepper drops and chopped parsley. My husband fell in love with it and the next time we'll make patties and grill the kibbeh. Thanks for posting, I'm sure everybody will enjoy this dish very much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 May 2009
Reviewed by: zamfam
Hubby gives this recipe a definite 5 stars! I finally realized why I can't get my Lebanese husband to care for any meatloaf recipes - after eating kibbeh, no meatloaf can compare! Only addition I would make is 1/2 c. or so of pine nuts (sold in small bags in the baking aisle with other nuts). Just isn't authentic kibbeh without the pine nuts. (You can also use 1/2 ground turkey and/or 1/2 lean ground beef for your meat if desired; the spices make this recipe!) Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DeusaCozinheira
This was AWESOME!! I had been wanting to make kibbeh for a long time. When I was studying in Mexico, I found that there were quite a few middle eastern restaurants, and this dish was very popular. In the US, it seems not many people have heard of it. I liked the fact that the mint and onion was mixed right up into the meat/bulgur mix, as I've only had it on the side before. I made raita to eat with this b/c I thought the flavors would go well together and it was DELISH!! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Aaron
Thank you so much for this recipe, it was absolutely wonderful. I had been looking for a recipe for baked kibi (kibbeh) for a while now and this one was the closest to perfect I could find. The only thing that i changed, and it is a personal taste thing, is added more bulgar and less meat. Oh, one other thing, for an extra little change gently stir in some fresh toasted almond slices. Thanks again for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Mari*
it was perfect! I made it with low-fat minced beef and did not add any oil, baked it, and it was still really good. I also added more bulgur and spices (bit of cinammon, clove of garlic, ginger powder and cayenne pepper). For a dip, I mixed 1/2 cup of yogurt, 2 tbsp of tahini and 2 tbsp of water, salt and pepper. thanks for the inspiration!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: nicmacdonald
Just took this out of the oven and sampled.....it is delicious! I pressed it into a pan and baked it as instructed. It held together well. I do find the allspice a little overpowering for my taste, so I may cut it back a little bit next time. This tastes very similar to the Kibbeh I have tasted that was made by my friend's Lebanese mother.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Imane
Being Lebanese and this one of our national dish, we use fine burghul and we add some ground marjoram to the meat mixture.... And we serve it with youghurt mixed with chopped cucumber or green salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Crystal Hatch
WOW! This was so good. Don"t change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: MAMMABEAR98034
Easy to make and the family enjoys! Served it with a green salad, and fried flat bread with Raita sauce, Tzatziki sauce and Hummus to choose from. Everyone is happy! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Alice Alexander
I made this for my Lebanese paramour, who said this was the best kibbeh he had had in the states. The recipe is perfect as-is and way easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.80.183.100