My reviews (10)

Vegan millet pilaf

Millet is toasted and simmered with onions, carrots and green pepper for a savoury vegan side dish. Try using other herbs instead of coriander, such as parsley, basil or thyme.
Reviews (10)


02 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Strofal
It was a bit bland for me and not very Cuban. I added cumin, lime, black beans, paprika. Also, ned to roast millet prior to adding to sautéed veg, obviously
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Jese Richert
I added cumin, paprika, black beans and smoked beef sausage. I also used beef broth, red bell pepper, 3 cloves of garlic and a jalapeno pepper. topped it with a little sour cream and my picky eater had seconds! turned out really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Turtlearts
Just made it last night. I added a red pepper as well and at the end added a can of black beans that I had rinsed before. Not only was it nice looking but it tasted very good. Both my husband and son loved it. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: crystaldurairaj
I made this recipe precisely, except that I added about a 1/4 tsp. of cayenne and 1 tsp. of paprika for a little more kick. I thought it tasted excellent, and I'll definitely be saving it for future use as a side dish or a light main course. Thank you for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Diane Meyer
This is surprisingly good, and it's a great way to hide veggies for picky eaters. My 11 year old who "hates carrots" gobbled it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: Peggy
I would definitely make this again. I did use organic chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Catherine Lee
This was super tasty as is, had with some grilled chicken. Not sure how diet it is since millet is known to block thyroid hormone, but it sure is tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: J
I added one green onion, a stalk of celery, about 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper. I used 2 level teaspoons of vegetable bouillon and slightly more than 2 cups water. This is my first dish with millet and I was afraid it might get too soft. I stopped cooking just in time. Next time I will use slightly less liquid and stop a little sooner in hopes of a little more crunch. The time cooking seems a little greater than is stated but I always monitor it toward the end and rarely pay close attention to time. It is more important to inspect and taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2016
Reviewed by: MARIA CHARALAMBOUS
Absolutely looove this recipe. Simple, quick, healthy and sooooo tasteful. I even (most of the times) skip the peppers and its still great!!!!! The cilantro though its a must!!!! and lots of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2015
Reviewed by: Rochelle
I followed this as directed, only adding 1t. smoked paprika and 1/4 t cayenne. It took about 15 minutes longer to cook than stated, and came out slightly crunchy, but mostly mushy. I'm not sure if I did something wrong in the cooking or it's supposed to be mushy. It was still a bit boring as a side dish, so I will probably add black beans and other spices to it. I may then add cheese and eat as a meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches