My reviews (24)

Roast goose with port gravy

I've made this roast goose several times and it is fantastic. A perfect Christmas dinner!
Reviews (24)


28 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: eggman
This is a great recipe for any time of year, and the gravy is to die for. This is a keeper,thnks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Ellyanah
The goose was great. Everyone loved it. It was very moist and the gravy was awesome! I would make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Chuck Dagel
All i can say is fantastic!! used this recipe twice now and it is absolutely awesome thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: angie in uk
I tried this recipe for Christmas this year and it was absolutely wonderful. The meat was moist and tender and the skin was crispy. What more could you ask for?m Thanks for the fab recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: pelicangal
This was unbelievably good. The sauce really made the dish. This was my first time cooking a goose and everyone kept telling me that it would be very greasy. It wasn't, it was delicious. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Gizzy'sMommy
The goose was fantastic! I made it for my annual Christmas party and it was utterly demolished. I don't think a pack of coyotes could have left a cleaner set of bones! We made two major changes: First, I put a traditional cornbread stuffing with chopped carrots, celery, and onion in the cavity instead of what they suggested. Second, the gravy didn't turn out very well by out family's gravy standards, so very little of that was consumed. However, a guest discovered that the goose was ABSOLUTELY AWESOME when eaten with a bite of the spinach artichoke dip. Who knew?!?! We will definitely make this again... Just skip the gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kayellpee
This was absolutely delicious! Had to add a little cornstarch to the dressing ebcause it wasn't as think as we liked it, but overall this was the perfect dish. The goose was nice and tender, not dry at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: mrsj
I had never prepared goose before and relied on this recipe. Although it was easy and delicious, there is no way it could serve 10. We scraped every bit of meat from the carcass, and it would serve 4-5 adults. The port gravy was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: petri-dish
Taking all other reviews into account, I had the confidence that I would make a perfect goose my very first time. I followed the very clear instructions step by step. I removed my goose from the oven as soon as the thermometer registered 80°C, actually closer to 90°C and I was worried that I had overcooked. It turned out that the goose had a fatty, wobbly layer all around that it was hard to get a grip on it with my teeth. No crispy skin and the meat was not dry. Possibly I should've used a different heat setting in my oven other than 3D-fan hot air. Perhaps goose is just not my thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Patty Cakes
We have never had goose before. I got an Excellent deal at the market for this after holidays meat. I cooked it the way it was writen but did not use the wine hence the 4 stars. My family Really enjoyed this goose! Hubby and I thought it tasted like a rich steak. My skin was not quite as crisp as I would have liked but I guees maybe I did something a bit wrong. I forgot to pour boiling water over it. Maybe thats what happend. I was using a sheet pan to cook it in and wanted to collect the fat for later use. Thank you Christine
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches