My reviews (9)

Doro wat (Ethiopian chicken stew)

Berbere, a blend of sweet and piquant spices, is the secret weapon in this utterly delicious Ethiopian chicken stew.
Reviews (9)


19 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Cheryl
Delicious. Made it as described with the exception of using chicken thighs instead of chicken breast, making my own berbere. Also, found a recipe for the cabbage potato dish mentioned (All Recipes Ethiopian Cabbage Dish) and it made a great side dish for the Doro Wat. My husband, the picky eater, had two big helpings of everything.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: SugaShack
I loved it! Berbere seasoning can be expensive and hard to find so prepare yourself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: rhyk
Just quick note: onions are not on ingredient list but is first item in recipe! ALSO!!! Probably a mistaken amount of berbere. Maybe 2/3 tablespoon? Came out great with 2 teaspoons (quite spicy). I eat Ethiopian food whenever I can. Nice to have a good recipe for home prep.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: rachel
Very good, but my berbere wasn’t very authentic tasting. If anyone knows where to get an authentic berbere from Ethiopia, I? would be happy to hear of it. Mine tasted way too strong of cardamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: Ceora
I would like to make this for guests - 3/4 cup of berbere sounds like an insane amount to me! Is that right??? Most other recipes I've read call for tablespoons when using berbere.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Tammantha Shaw
This dish is delicious, my family loved it. I dont eat spicy dishes my husband and kids loved it, the pot was empty. Its very spicy I tried a small piece but it was too spicy for me. They ate it clean to the pot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2017
Reviewed by: newmexjags
Very delicious, very spicy and very hot! I made this in the crock pot. I only used 2/3 cup of the berbere spice because that's all I had. I subbed 1 cup chicken broth for the water and only used 1 stick of butter. That seems to be enough. I've never had Ethiopian food except for what I've made off of All Recipes. I got the berbere spice off of Amazon. Thank You! Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Kate O'Neill
I absolutely love Ethiopian food - so much so I was nervous about making it because I didn't want to muck it up. This recipe did not disappoint! My only change was using fresh chopped tomatoes rather than the paste. I had to let it simmer a bit longer before and after adding the chicken to get the consistency I wanted but it was so worth it. They key here is patience, let things just barely simmer slowly and taste as you go. I made it with the recommended cabbage/potato dish (also posted by the user Twin Cities) and enjoyed with injera. Everyone went back for seconds and mopped up the sauce with the bread. Thanks for posting - I'm adding this to my "show-off" recipe box for sure! Of note: I've seen this served with a lightly dressed green salad or collard greens if you want to simplify the side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
Flavorful and delicious. This easy to make recipe gives you a very fragrant meal to enjoy with injera bread. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.80.183.100