My reviews (66)

Giant couscous, chickpea and feta salad

Giant couscous is combined with chickpeas, feta cheese, sundried tomatoes and olives to make this Greek-inspired salad or light main dish that's perfect for a hot summer's day.
Reviews (66)


21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: LatinaCook
This dish was great. I have made something similar before with orzo instead of couscous but couscous is outstanding and looks very pretty on the plate. I did use whole wheat couscous, and because it is dark the other ingredients didn't stand out as much. Regardless, it was pretty to look at and delicious. I also used all chicken broth (3/4 cup) , no water. As is, this is a very light lunch but if you cook some chicken breasts strips on the side seasoned with salt and pepper you can make this a more filling dinner entree. I say "salt and pepper" because the flavors in this couscous are complex enough and a heavy seasoned chicken might be a bit too much. Of course, it depends on your own personal taste and that of your family. Opa!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: KateB
My family enjoyed this. I made a few changes to appeal to the 12 and 10 year olds: skipped the olives, but added some finely diced red pepper which gave it a nice crunch. Also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, and used black beans instead. Overall, a nice, healthy side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: ALLYSONJANE
I doubled the recipe so that I would have enough to bring for lunches this week. I used all chicken broth instead of some water because I did not want to waste the rest of the can. I also only used a can of garbanzo beans, which was a little scant, because I didn't want to open a second for another ounce of beans. The results were delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: amberino7
if this has chicken broth in it then it's not vegetarian.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Danielle
Super easy to make. The flavors are great and it's light and refreshing. I used a sweet pepper instead of sun-dried tomatoes and I left out the olives. I added a little extra lemon juice also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Angie Fuller
mmm, the perfect side dish to a baked salmon and spinach dish. I followed one of the reviews and omitted the water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I also used whole wheat couscous and since I didn't have sundried tomatoes, I just used some homegrown tomatoes I had dehydrated. Absolutely delicious and I'm eating a bowl of leftovers right now. Next time I might add just a touch more broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: bellareaction
really delicious! added grilled chicken for a light main dish. will definately make again! thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: HeatherLilly
This is delicious. Looking at the ingredients I knew we would like it, but I had no idea just how well it would come together. I used a full can of chickpeas and added more feta. Amazingly tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: collegechef08
Fantastic for a healthy lunch. Used veggie broth rather than chicken broth (since I'm a vegetarian) and left out the olives (don't like them), but other than that I stuck to the recipe and my family loved it. The "dressing" is quite good, the flavors come together very nicely. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Sweetpea
Healthy and addicting! I followed the recipe exactly but left the olives out since my boyfriend hates them. This was delicious without the olives but when I added the olives (minced) to eat the leftovers for lunch...WOW.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.80.183.100