My reviews (337)

Overnight Cinnamon Rolls

Make these the night before as the dough rises in the fridge overnight. Bake the next morning for breakfast or brunch. Easy and delicious. Enjoy!
Reviews (337)


18 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: ljw137
Amazing. Made 12 HUGE rolls. Agree with previous reviewer that you shouldn't be tempted to increase the amount of cinammon. They were more work than expected but will definitely be repeated!
 
30 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Tupelo70
I followed the recipe pretty much word for word ,and they came out brilliantly. Even though they are Cinnamon buns, I would make sure that no more than the stated amount of cinnamon is used as this is more than adequate. This is a great breakfast treat.
 
02 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Italiana
I have made these twice and so far I think it would be safe to say that they are nothing short of wonderful! I do have a few modifications of my own. I made the dough in my bread machine on "dough" cycle. I add a little bit of vanilla into the dough for those of us who choose not to have frosting. ( I think cream chese frosting would also be very tasty) I sprinkle a little olive oil on the dough before adding the filling. I also find that when rolling into the log, the more times you can roll it the better the buns come. I think that thats the true trick to making these. They will have more filling and stay more moist. So put a little extra effort into rolling it into a log and they come out doubly better! And to make them SUPER moist put a VERY small pat pf butter on top of each roll before baking. One more thing- when i made these the second time, when I tool these out of the fridge in the morning I found that some of the filling had liquified and there were little puddles of it around each bun. If this is the case try to scoop this up and put it on the buns BEFORE cooking them! If you do it after it will carmalize into a rock hard tooth-breaker. And to top my review off- baking them for 20 minutes makes for a much better out come! Once again- Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Jacqui
to avoid flattening the rolls when cutting, use a length of thread, place under the roll where you want to cut it holding the ends. Tie a knot... easy as pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: JENNIFER62
Very good recipe-the dough is easy to work with and they raised very nicely.I save my tuna fish cans and use them as pans instead of a muffin tin.They form perfectly shaped rolls every time. My yield(with the tuna cans) was 18 for this recipe. I also use the tuna cans for making large muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GRANNYANNE
Wonderful, charming comfort food, and easier than I thought it would be to cook. I particularly enjoyed checking on them in the morning and seeing how plump and delicious-smelling they had become overnight. I also like the fact there are no weird or expensive ingredients. I'll use a little bigger pan next time because they were a bit overcrowded, and I'll add just a little more brown sugar & cinnamon. Be careful not to let them overheat during rising or they will stop rising too soon and be like little hockey pucks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: DREMY
This is excellent for "prepare ahead cinnamon rolls! Easy to prepare, and best of all, it's done the night before! A keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: NIALL
I doubled the amount of cinammon and thought that a little less brown sugar in the filling would still have been plenty. The recipe calls for one 9x9 pan but two are required. Some tasters wondered if I was a baker !
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MLACROIX
Like some others, I did find the dough a little goopy, but I added a bit more flour at a time and kneaded it the whole 8 minutes advised and it was smooth and supple by then. I did add about 1 Cup more of flour in the kneading process. I used all the brown sugar the recipe called for but there was SO much filling it ran out the sides so next time I will use less. I included chopped pecans in with my brown sugar...not listed on the ingredients list but nuts are mentioned in one step. I highly recommend the pecans! Next time I will try a different frosting; this one was good but just shy of what I wanted. Overall a big hit with my whole fmaily!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: pamelascakes
i made this recipe twice. first time i followed the directions to the letter(following the advise to use cream cheese frosting). it was ok but the second time i made some changes. i added an extra 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp. more salt, and a 1 tsp. cinnamon to the sort of bland dough. i slathered a generous layer of soft butter to the dough before adding cinnamon-sugar mix. i bake it at 350 because 375 is just too high for a tender dough like this. this came out fantastic!!!! still with the cream cheese frosting. it gets easier to make the more you do it. please note that my dough didn't rise during the first rest period or in the fridge...but in the oven..MAN OH MAN! PERFECT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches