My reviews (82)

Classic profiteroles

This choux pastry recipe makes delicate profiteroles or eclairs, perfect for filling with whipped cream and topping with melted chocolate.
Reviews (82)


Comment:
06 Jun 2010
myster said:
Something else. instead of them being small i made them big i got about 9 out of the mixture so they look like elephants feet(choux buns)
 
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: myster
I made them 2day and my kids loved them they gave me a 10/10 so i was very pleased!!!!!
 
06 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: maryjo
My oven is hot !! These buns dried out beautifully. No need to scrape anything out. Just as they should be. They were crisp.
 
01 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Goodfood
I also only made the pastry but since that is the main point of this recipe, that is what I will comment on. As someone previously mentioned, some of the directions are needelessly complicated or leave out important steps. First, this is the classic cream puff dough recipe with 1C water, 1 stick butter, 1C flour and 1C eggs (far easier to measure since each egg is slightly different). Mix the butter and water together and heat to a boil (no need to heat separately and if you boil too long some of the water will boil off changing the ration of liquid to dry ingredientes with is very important in this type of recipe). Remove from heat, dump in the flour/salt and stir until dough forms. Let COOL for 10+ minutes. Place dough in stand mixer with paddle attachment and add eggs one at a time until a smooth dough forms. Use 2 soup spoons to place dough (will be very sticky) on parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake at first at 400 for about 10 minutes (causes dough to puff up) then reduce heat to 350 and bake ~25 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool. If you bake them correctly then won't flop and there won't be a need to remove any raw dough from the center. Most recipes show 2 different temps for baking, one to puff and the other to finish baking the dough. Fill with your desired filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: mollyblue122
I made 2 batches of these the other day. My first go wasn't great because i split them open so they lost the puffiness in the look. I didn't split the puffs on my second batch, I only made a hole in the side of each with the back end of a wooded spoon. The whipped cream was great, but deflated overnight. I found a recipe to keep your whipped cream stiff by adding 2 tablespoons of dry instant vanilla pudding to the mixture, and be sure to use powdered sugar which helps the whipped cream stay stiffer. I will be making these again - they did taste great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: REDPONYGIRL
I found this recipe helpful, but didn't see the need to scoop out the soft dough. Once baked and cooled, I didn't have a lot of soft dough inside of these. I love sweetened whipped cream and found it to my liking when I made these. I just made certain that the heavy cream was whipped to form stiff peaks and filled the cream puffs rather full, serving them immediately is the trick! If you cannot serve them right away, I suggest freezing them. Take them out of the freezer about an hour before you do serve them. I used chocolate syrup instead of the melted chocolate chips. Any flavored syrup, like strawberry, would also be good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LIMCANCOOK
I love this cream puffs. I added 1 1/2 tsp. sugar into the pastry mixture and 3 eggs instead of 4. If after adding 3 large eggs, the dough is thick and fall steadily from the beaters when you lift them out of the bowl, you don't have to add the 4th egg. Add the 4th egg only if the dough still clinging to the beaters. I stored it in the freezer and the filling tasted like ice-cream. Yummylicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: SONEXTWEEK
This is a really great recipe. This was my first time making cream puffs, and let me tell you! They turned out wonderful: light, fluffy, and very good. I didn't make the cream (I used cool-whip instead), but the outside part came out very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: KRISTYLEE3
I really liked the way the dough turned out. Nice and crisp. However, I thought that the filling needed something else. It didn't have much taste and it was too liquidy. Pudding might be a better alternative. I had to put them in the freezer just to be able to eat them so that the filling wouldn't leak out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: KimberlyKay
These were a good cream puff but I wasn't quite sure if it was necessary to remove the softer insides. I replaced the filling with a mixture of vanilla pudding and cool whip-it was great! Definetly make sure to cook long enought to make them nice and crisp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches