My reviews (50)

Luxury Vanilla Ice Cream

This is a rich custard ice cream, flavoured with a whole vanilla bean. This is a basic recipe; purists will most definitely enjoy as it is, but you can also experiment with additions to create your own flavour.
Reviews (50)


30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: starfish
I didn't stain the custard - I just scooped out the vanilla bean. Nice the way it had all the specks of vanilla - looked just like the one Haagen Dazz makes and costs a fortune!
 
24 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Sy Chandell
This is WORTH the 'trouble'!!! I am on a low sugar diet by choice (which we all should be) and I made this ice cream with Splenda* brand alternative sweetener. It goes thru your system, and does not get absorbed into the blood stream, because your body mistakes it for something unabsorbable, like dietary fiber. It's fabulous. And, like the jingles claim, it does taste just like sugar. Anyhow, you've got to be really careful not to let the custard boil. If you use medium heat all through the recipie, it'll boil at some point. After seeing the first few 'boils' in the cream mix, take it off the heat and immediately turn the stove down to medium-low. Half way to medium. Then, watch it carefully, and stir OFTEN. I found that it is thick enough to 'coat the back of a spoon' in it's plain cream mix form, but when the final custard has been cooking for 3 or 5 minutes, and it does seem nice and thick to you, it's done. If you have a newer 'ice-less' ice cream mixer, and you are going to be using online recipes, you should definately find out what the capacity of your freezer bowl is. I have the Cuisinart ICE-20, and any recipe with a total of roughly 2 1/2 to 3 cups of dairy products in it is definately going to fill it up. Don't forget how ice cream seems to double in volume when it is freezing up. If the recipe seems too big, take advantage of allrecipe's fabulous scaling option at the bottom of the main recipe page. Just tweak it until the cuppage is correct for your mixer. Also
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: GUSTERDUCK
This vanilla ice cream was great but I had changed a few things. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, whole milk, and only 5 egg yolks. It came out very creamy and smooth. Absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CARRIE HUBBARD
This ice cream was really good. We liked it much better than the highly rated Vanilla Ice Cream IV. I didn't have a vanilla bean so I just doubled the vanilla extract and it came out wonderful. This is defiantly the best vanilla homemade ice cream that I have tried from this site. Thanks Melissa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2007
Reviewed by: J - B
Great texture and taste! After a bad experience with another ice cream recipe I heeded a previous reviewers warning and cut the eggs. We used 3 eggs in place of 5 the recipe called for. Also substituted 2 tsp of vanilla extract for the vanilla bean. We cooled the mixture in the fridge overnight. After churning in our ice cream mixer it was absolutely the best vanilla ice cream I have ever tasted. I am not a vanilla fan, but this was delicious and not a drop was left after our BBQ.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
This is a smooth, very rich, and creamy frozen custard, the kind we in Wisconsin love and are famous for. For those who find the "egginess" not to their liking, the egg yolks can be reduced without a problem. Since I like my custard extra rich, I used half and half in exchange for the milk, which also contributes to the smooth mouth feel. This is also a wonderful base for other flavors and additions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: NITROJEN
This was so rich, we could barely eat a scoop apiece! It was tasty enough, but I'd cut waaaaay back on the eggs next time. I made it for my daughter's eighth birthday party and some of her friends didn't even finish theirs. Mixed with chocolate, malt, and nonfat milk, it makes terrific shakes, though, which is how we used the leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: PUPKINPIE2
To make your ice cream more creamy let the ice cream base sit overnight in the fridge. The next day it will be vanilla sauce/pudding like. This is a great, creamy ice cream recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ELAINE ODOM
Wonderful but you must double the recipe to get a full batch. I cut down on the eggs when doubled i use only 16 eggs
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2007
Reviewed by: Megan
This ice cream is good, but I think it is more like a custard. We enjoyed making it as a family and we hope to make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches