My reviews (604)

Chicken jalfrezi

This is a Pakistani recipe for a spicy curry. My mum made this dish, and I like it very much. You must try it. This dish is best served with basmati rice, chapattis or naan bread.
Reviews (604)


07 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Babyemmy1
ive made ALOT of curries at home and (coming from the curry capital - Bradford) none of them have ever lived up to the restaraunt ones! until now, i absolutely loved this, it is really tasty with strong flavours and so easy to make. All i did different was add some sliced red peppers and at the end i added a tablespoon of double cream, apart from that i stuck to the recipe 100%....will definitely make it again.....thanks for sharing this Alia x
 
Comment:
30 Jan 2010
r1ch4rd said:
Something else. Added a sliced green pepper just before the end of cooking. Really freshens it up. Also, added fresh green chillies at certain points (arbitrarily) - gave it a bit more kick. Ghee is not strictly necessary - when frying the oil at the start, a similar (and preferred to me) effect is given by adding a knob of butter as well!
 
10 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Lily_anne80
Easy and will be cooked in one hour! Indian food had been for eating out only, but now I can cook at home!!(Other recipes sometimes requires so many process and time) Thought maybe some chicken cubes could be added on, but I was amazed that the recipe tastes very good enough without any unhealthy things...
 
Comment:
19 Jan 2010
Muncher said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I left out the ghee - just wasn't needed in my opinion.
 
29 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: mikey136
stuck to it accept i put in fresh tomatoes,red peppers and some sultanas,deff make this again.
 
Comment:
15 Aug 2010
LydiaWalker said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I put in 1/2 tsp of salt instead of 1 1/2, and I left out the ghee.
 
10 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: alanorion
An excellent recipe I added two tablespoons of butter instead of clarified butter and it gave a marvellous constituancy. I aslo added some thinly sliced green and red peppers. I have made this twice and it is superb. It will not dissapoint. This is now my favourite recipe. Since I have been eating currries for 50 years this is a good recomendation Thank you
 
Comment:
19 Feb 2011
hannahw said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I used 1 tsp salt not 1 and 1/2, I added one red and green pepper after the onions and instead of ghee, I used a knob of normal butter
 
17 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jonno78
Superb. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Will defo be my default jalfrezi recipe from now on.
 
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: jojo75
this is the first curry i have made which didnt involve opening a jar! We all loved it, i too did not have any ghee so just added a little butter and olive oil. We also added a chopped up red chilli. I am about to try it again but would like it with a little more of a kick so will add a little more chilli to it. Other than that extremely easy and very tasty!!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches