My reviews (96)

Sangria by the Pros

I found a good sangria recipe and headed to the off license to purchase the alcohol. In the queue, ahead of me, was a man who said he has been a bartender for 20 years now, and that my recipe needed a few touch-ups if I wanted to make it like the Pros. So, here is what he professed to me, muchos thanks to the other submitters for their delicious versions.
Reviews (96)


07 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica
This recipe is amazing! I doubled the recipe, but kept the fruit in the same amount & it was the perfect ratio. I feel like if there was less liquid (as called for in the original quantity of the recipe), it would be too chunky & perhaps difficult to drink. The flavor of this was just right! Yum! **Also, just a little tip for anyone who hasn't thought of it: Instead of adding the soda into the pitcher, I just topped off each glass with a splash of it as I served them, so the soda wouldn't go flat throughout the evening! This worked great!**
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: MICKIEKAT
The real deal! Delicious. Took this to a party and it was gone in minutes. Try adding a little sugar if the red wine is too dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Getagriplinda
I made a triple batch of this sangria and thought maybe I had made too much but by the end of the evening it was gone and people were asking for more. At first it was too tart so I added a bit of sugar and that smoothed it right out. Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: PSEEGER
I have a very similar recipe that I use: without cherries, lemon or lime, but with a 6oz can or pineapple juice and 1/4 cup of brandy is replaced with orange liqueur. It's delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: LISA1976
Excellent recipe, with some changes. 1) Left out the cherries and pineapple. 2) Used cherry brandy. 3) Doubled the red wine, OJ, and soda. Served in a punch bowl and it was demolished very quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: JAYNALISA
I followed this recipe to the T with the exception of the apple and it was amazing! Everyone loved it! I only had time to have the fruit soaking in the brandy for one hour...but I can imagine what it would have been like had I soaked the fruit for the two hours or overnight! The cherries were expensive...but well worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2007
Reviewed by: ANDIE
WOW! Better than most restaurant sangrias! Easy to change up the fruit to taste! Highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: FUNLETA
Delicious and potent. I added a mixture of fruit and as a personal preference, I would not use citrus or apple. Next time I will stick to blueberries, raspberries and cherries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: PAMELADEE320
This was wonderful and I did add a little sugar like the other reviewers suggested. It felt like I was actually making the wine from scratch!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Karl
Are you bloody kidding me?! This was incredible! I used to have bartender made sangria all the time in bistros in Quebec City. They were delicious. Then when I moved to Colorado, it was not served and lost touch with this excellent elixir. Move forward almost 15 years later, I go back to Quebec City just to realize that most people use a prepared mix (like margarita mix) and just add wine; what a travesty! So I looked up this recipe and...WOW! For those of you who have read some of my reviews I always make the recipes AS IS, at least the first time. Well, in this case, I could not find fresh pineapple and did not want the canned version, so I unfortunately had to leave it out. The outcome.... even a doubled recipe DISAPPEARED in less than a half-hour! Now I call that a stamp of approval. Here is a nice little trick though. If you've macerated the fruit in the brandy for the required amount of time, and don't server a lot of them in the actual drink, you can make a new batch in a pinch. Ok, it will not be "as good" as the first one, but it is better than not having sangria!!! Thank you so much for the recipe and having rekindled my love of sangria.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches