My reviews (47)

Irish cabbage

This is a delicious cabbage side dish.
Reviews (47)


29 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: KGora
This was super simple. I skipped the butter and oven and just sauteed the cooked cabbage in the bacon grease.
 
10 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: BakingNana
We love cabbage and we love bacon. I didn't add the entire 2 tsp of nutmeg, I couldn't bring myself to do it - I just sprinkled the top lightly. I really enjoyed the addition of the red wine vinegar. Some onion with the cabbage would be a good addition. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
 
30 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Sanzoe
We enjoyed this recipe. I normally would not add nutmeg to a savory dish but did to follow the recipe. It added a depth of flavor I didn't expect and we really liked it. Will make this again.
 
03 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: elsiek
Absolutely brilliant. I cooked the cabbage for 6 mins in microwave, added butter & nutmeg, then cubes of gammon. Served in a pasta bowl. A good, healthy dish ready in 7 minutes.
 
17 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: superhotmama
- I'm sorry to say I am dubious... I'm a vinegar-with-my-cabbage girl. I love nutmeg, and I love cabbage, but for me, the two together didn't work. Somehow there seemed to be a sweet/but/metallic thing going on. I did love the bacon and will make again, but leave out my beloved nutmeg.
 
03 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: jennbo
I couldn't believe how good this was. I have tried to eat cabbage a lot, but I've never been a fan no matter how it has been prepared... until now! I'm a believer!
 
01 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: cwoods81
This was just okay for us. I only used 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and it was still way too much for us! It had a decent flavor, but I would have to go much lighter on the nutmeg if I make it again.
 
28 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: MommySmith
This cabbage is really good with the red wine vinegar. We used a red wine vinegar that had been infused with pomegranate. I think I'll stick to my grandma's recipe.
 
25 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: CoOkInGnUt
This was sooooo good. Hubby and myself both loved this. One thing I will change is right before serving quickly fry the cabbage in with the butter
 
24 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: OccasionalCooker
I'm sure if you like cabbage, you would like this recipe. However, no matter how much butter and bacon are added it still tastes like cooked cabbage. I probably should have lightly steamed the cabbage instead because I don't really like the texture of the cooked cabbage.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches