My reviews (8)

Smoked acorn squash soup

Smoking the squash with alder wood smoking chips gives this warming soup an intense and distinctive flavour beyond compare. I always make a lot because the smoking time is an hour to two, but this recipe can also be cut in half.
Reviews (8)


20 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: skoepke
This soup was amazing. Everyone in the house had second and thirds. I wouldn't tell my son what was in it until his third bowl. He doesn't do veggies. I shortened this process considerabley by cooking in the microwave for 3-4 minutes. Then split them and backed on cedar planks in the oven until soft. (soaked cedar planks) I also add 1 tsp. of liquid smoke to off set the non grilling. Make a double batch it goes fast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: MISSCOOKSALOT
Delicious! I didnt make it exactly as the recipe called for but it turned out amazing anyway- I didnt smoke the squash-I baked it in the oven until it was soft and scooped it out after. I used turkey bacon instead (it has a smokey flavour too it) cut the butter and sour cream in half too. I wish I had doubled the recipe as it did not last long!! I topped it off with a few toasted pumpkin seeds and yum yum yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: raebbie
This is a great addition to Thanksgiving. If you have a smoker the acorn squash can be cooked for a few hours at the same time as the turkey, which gives it exceptional flavor. A keeper for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Laura Jane
I sauteed onion and garlic with a bit of the bacon fat and omitted the butter, the squash to be rich enough. After soup was done, I was under impressed. So, I chopped and sauteed two jalapenos and two poblanos to add; tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: DocDave
WOW !!! This was fantastic. I am a member of a local club and in the fall we have "Soup Saturdays" so I made a large pot. The flavor was awesome. I highly recomend the garnish as it gives a subtle enhancement to the soup. The alder wood is perfect. My wife and I found ourselves nibbling on the squash right from the smoker. A definate repeat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Angelika Bertrand
I made it today. As I harvested it from my garden fresh Acorn. I backed it in a 375 degree oven in shallow baking dish, with water in it. Wrapped it in alumni foil. Mean time,chopped onion, garlic, carrotts, oil in a pan, chopped up five stripes of bacon. Heated the oil, added the onion the garlic, on low flame. Stirring constantly. In mean time I heated 2 cups of chicken bullion. I left chunky zuchini,s, carrots in my soup it is tasting soo good. And I added half and half and more curry to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: LadySparkle
This was really good! I only used one squash, but didn't scrimp on the bacon, using 4 slices (Applewood Smoked) I also added some onion powder, and was also generous with the fresh parsley. I'll bet the bowl I have left over is even better tomorrow. If I make it again, I'll add more spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Sherry Warner
Wow for the recipe to get me going on using different spices with squash. I did substitute Liquid Smoke rather than smoke on grill and used peanut squash instead. I left out the butter completely. Flavor is fantastic. Way better than I anticipated. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches