My reviews (304)

Lamb tagine

When I made this dish I left the kitchen window open. The smell attracted several neighbours, and when my husband came in, he said that it smelled so good, he hoped it was coming from our house and not from someone else's! Serve with couscous for a hearty and delicious meal.
Reviews (304)


05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Fuchsiamagic
Made as suggested but then cooked it in the oven in a proper tajine. After one and a half hours, strained off the juice, added a quarter of a bottle of red wine and reduced it down in a frying pan before adding it back to the stew. No cornflour necessary. The meat was so soft and tender. Fantastic!
 
22 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: janok
Didn't use all the spices mentioned but a couple of teaspoons of Ras Al Hanout (a blend of Moroccan spices) instead did the trick.Delicious!! Will definately make it again.
 
Comment:
01 Sep 2009
gdgibbo said:
Used different ingredients. I added dried apricots 20 minutes before the end of cooking, which seemed to go down well.
 
03 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: proctorious
I think this is the best recipe I have ever found online! I've made it at least 10 times. Everytime I cook it someone asks me for the recipe! I serve with cous cous and sometimes a vegetarian side. Amazing!
 
24 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Robbicooks
Omg my Boyfriend made this, amazing dish. We even made our own flat breads with a little flour, water and salt. With a beautiful cous cous flavoured with lime juice, black pepper, pommegranate seeds and parsley. Beautiful.
 
Comment:
30 Jan 2012
Popsy123 said:
I made this dish last night and it was delicious. Just warming up the remainder for dinner tonight!! I hadmost of the ingredients in my cupboard and so was cheap and easy to make. The shoulder of lamb I used just fell apart. I served it with Cous Cous Can't wait to make it again. My husband loved it too.
 
Comment:
06 Feb 2011
aisyah said:
Used different ingredients. Instead of tomato puree and home made stock, I used whatever there was in my cupboard and compromised with a can of chopped tomatoes, oxo chicken cube and I filled half of the empty can with water and threw it in! I also didn't have a lemon for the zest so added dashes lemon juice that was sitting in my fridge.. and the end result was Gorgeous! Definitely make it again as the family loves it.
 
Comment:
27 Jan 2011
linzi37 said:
Used different ingredients. Added butternut sqquash, dried apricots and sultanas for last couple of hours (overall 6-7 hours in slow cooker on low). Tasted delicious!
 
Comment:
01 Mar 2010
Altered ingredient amounts. Added another tablespoon of puree which thickened up the sauce enough not to need to add cornflour and cooked for 30 mins more than the suggested time. Whole family loved it.Will cook again.
 
24 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: malcolmjryan
I was surprised at the number of different species required and think I overdid the cloves which I ground myself. I also added dried apricots, prunes and sultanas that had been soaked in a dessert wine and half a tin of chopped tomatoes. It smelt good from the time I took the meat out of the sealed bag of spices and tasted delicious. I also added the zest of half a lemon and its juice to the couscous.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches