My reviews (812)

Easy Indian butter chicken

This is a recipe I have perfected over the years and passed onto many others. The sauce is perfect when creamy and not too thick or too thin. The level of salt and spices can be suited to your taste.
Reviews (812)


19 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: mj123
this recipe is brilliant! i only used half the cream and i added a bit if tomato ketchup to sweeten it slightly,my family loved it and it tastes exactly like an indian restaurant would serve.delicious!
 
18 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: sacaton
This was delicious!!! I also put in only half the amount of cream, and I substituted the other half with milk. My husband and I have had the leftovers for three meals in a row and still want more!
 
05 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Barryfitz58
 
22 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Keri
Well despite not having a couple of the ingredients (ie.Garam Masala and Tandoori Masala) this turned out lovely,it was REALLY tasty with the ingredients that i used ,in fact so tasty that i might just make it this way again!I used the cumin in the sauce in place of garam masala and coated the chicken with curry powder instead of tandoori masala.I only used 300ml of double cream as i felt that 700ml would be FAR too much!The quantity of sauce that i made was enough to go round 3-4 people!All in all i highly recommend this recipe....it is DELICIOUS!
 
04 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: spicey
excellent recipe all family members and friends really loved it, made it twice now will make it many more time with my other currys
 
07 May 2015
Reviewed by: stringerrugby
It was lovely. The recipe is so easy to follow . plenty of left over sauce so purposely did too much rice to have later on. We will definitely do this one again
 
09 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: eleanor-jones
Delicious recipe, however, the sauce content was too high. For my first try, I opted to use only 350ml of double cream, and then 350ml of milk, as advised in the previous reviews, yet I still found the sauce content to be too high even having made the substitute. I would suggest only using 350ml in total of double cream/milk.
 
Comment:
23 Jul 2011
Keri said:
I cooked the sauce with the chicken for an additional 30 minutes as i thought that this would enhance the taste of the chicken and the thickness of the sauce!
 
17 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: mn
I originally submitted this recipe. I've been experimenting and have found a healthier low fat version that's just as delicious: 1/4 butter (instead of 1 cup) and 1 can of evaporated skim milk (instead of cream). Turns out lighter but just as delicious. I've also used white fish, scallops and prawns in place of the chicken sometimes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Naomi
This recipes was delicious! I made a few changes, mostly to keep the number of pans down. I carmelized the onions in a large pan, then I added the rest of the butter, tomato sauce, cream, and spices and simmered (on EXTREMELY low heat) for about 10 minutes. Then I added the ckicken bits right into the sauce mixture (without tandoori masala) and let it simmer on low for about 25 more minutes until the chicken was done, being careful not to boil the cream. The chicken was tender and the sauce was delicious. I served it over basmati rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. My husband loved it! One of the best Indian recipes I've found.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches